Pecan Turtle Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I just made this recipe after reading all the reviews, however I was a confused when reviewers said they doubled the caramel layer! It calls for 2/3 cup of butter which is almost 11 tablespoons so you doubled that and used 22 tablespoons of butter and 1 cup of brown sugar? I decided to use my old standby caramel sauce of 1 cup brown sugar to 1 and 1/2 sticks of butter and whisked it together. I also used 2 cups flour, crushed my pecans with a rolling pin, and used almost a whole bag of milk chocolate chips. Still cooling but I can't stop picking at them. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
My son actually swooned when he tasted them. They are really delicious and take no time at all to put together. I do have an observation, though. I'm sure I used a lot more than a cup of pecans. I had some very large halves and I just laid them all over the crust. There was space between, but not a lot. Second, I'm also certain that I used more than one cup of chocolate morsels. I just wasn't getting the coverage that I thought should happen, so I used more. I used semi-sweet instead of milk chocolate because that's what I had on hand. Third - I sprinkled a TINY amount of Fleur de Sel sea salt over the finished pan before cooling completely. The rage seems to be salted caramel, and it sounded good so I did it. DEE-licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary-Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I see I should've doubled the chocolate chips. Mine don't look like the photo which shows thick fudgy chocolate. Mine have just a thin layer of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
My husband loved these. I thought they were too sweet. I took other reviewers suggestion to used 2 Cups Flour. Next time I do that but will also omit the brown sugar from the crust. I doubled the brown sugar, butter, and Pecans and used butterscotch chips in addition to semisweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I didn't have good luck with this recipe. They do taste great, but the chocolate wouldn't melt. And they were a little greasy. I followed others advice and added extra flour and used more chocolate chips. I wanted to take them to work for a baby shower, but will not be able to do that now. I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Super-easy and delicious. I actually found it easier to cut the butter in by hand in the first step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
These were a BIG hit at my house. My daughter loves these. Will be maing these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tdunbar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
The recipe needs to be reworked as suggested by a number of reviewers. They were easy to make that is the only reason I gave them 2 stars! I nearly tossed out the whole pan! But it helped by putting them in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I made the adjustments (2 c. flour, double the caramel layer and the chips) and they were heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is really easy and worth the try :) Husband and bro in law LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States