Pecan Turtle Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, and while it was tasty overall, the caramel layer was grainy and gritty. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I only read a couple reviews before attempting this, so I was unaware of it tasting like toffee. I am not a huge fan of toffee and was actually expecting the middle to resemble a pecan pie somewhat. Overall they were still tasty, the kids loved them. I also upped the flour to nearly 2 cups. I added about 2 extra tbsp to the butter mixture, I was scared to double it for fear of them being too greasy. I was careful poring it and it was more than enough to cover the whole thing. They did turn out a bit greasy but not too bad, napkins are a must though. I had no issues removing then from the pan, the middle was a little more soggy and the edges were crisp. I think I will try the crust with a no corn syrup pecan pie recipe for the filling next time. Oh one more thing I only had a little less than a cup of chocolate chips, I carefully spead them out, returned it to the oven and 4 mins later pulled it out. I managed to spread the chips evenly when melted. I really think more chips would have made it far too sweet. I used semi-sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I recently tried these. I followed other peoples' suggestions with regards to doubling the sugar and butter mixture for the middle layer, but found them WAY TOO SWEET and greasy. I think next time I will either try a smaller pan, so that the mixture will cover it with the original amounts. Also, I don't think these will look anything like the picture unless you melt the chocolate separately and pour it over top. Will try again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
My son had these bars from a local bakery so I decided to make some at home, don't get me wrong these taste awesome, but as written the squares would not work. I halved the recipe for a 9x9 pan, used 1 cup flour, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup of butter for the base. I used my hands to make the base and pressed down hard with my potato masher. For the topping I used 1/2 cup ground pecans as that is what I had leftover from Christmas baking with 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/3 cup butter and 1 tsp vanilla added after boiling. I used semi sweet chips, didn't measure just sprinkled over the top, then swirled when melted. I wish the submitter or Allrecipes would add divided in the ingredients for the brown sugar and butter because if you don't read the recipe through properly you would not know you need it for the base and topping until it was too late. I also lined my pan with parchment paper for easy removal and clean up. Next time make the full recipe for the 9x9 pan to make them thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Nope. Too gritty when done. Carmel "sauce" didn't cover entire pan, made more. some pieces are just chocolate, a nut, and crust... no carmel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catholic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I regret finding this recipe because they are so addictive! (And so easy) They are delicious and perfect as written - light, crisp, buttery, a salty sweet delight! Make sure you don't overcook the caramel - and I did mine in a non-stick saute pan rather than a sauce pan. I was very concerned when the crust was so crumbly - almost powdery - but once I poured on the caramel it mixed with the crust and nuts and created a wonderful treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Glen Mills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I won Best Cookie with this recipe at a giant cookie swap for charity! It's insanely easy and sooooooo yummy. I actually messed up the directions and forgot to put the pecans in before baking. I ended up pressing them into the melted chocolate at the end. Still turned out great! My only regret is that I didn't make more of them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I added shredded cocoanut after swirling the chocolate. That was a great modification!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little French Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States