Pecan Turtle Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These were very yummy. I do have some suggestions. I also upped the flour as suggested to 2 cups. I doubled the caramel middle layers as well and think that really is necessary. Some reviewers are complaining about a "buttery mess" or butter leaking out the top. If you are not combining the caramel layer well, I can see this would happen. I mixed the caramel with a silicone whisk to make sure it was totally blended. I would also melt the chocolate and pour it over rather than sprinkle on the chips and try to spread them. Much neater presentation that way and you assured the chocolate melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
these were pretty tasty, although not quite what i was expecting. the brown sugar crust sort of overwhelms the flavor i think, but its still yummy. i think next time i will halve the crust, quadruple the sugar/butter (caramel) mix and also the pecans, and then leave the chocolate as is. my favorite part of turtles is the pecan/caramel, with just enough chocolate to set off the taste, so i think just enough crust to hold it together would be perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misslynnae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Like a few other reviewers, I found this too greasy from the butter and the brown sugar mixture grainy. Not sure how to fix these issues. Cook the brown sugar mix longer? I was concerned that if I overcooked it then it would turn into brittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Amazing!!! Also doubled the butter and brown sugar layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Unlike everyone else, I didn't like these bars. I didn't find them to be very tasty, and I even doubled the butter, sugar, & chocolate like everyone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icyeyes2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
It is definitely a candy. I followed the advice about doubling the flour. I upped the butter/sugar layer too. I also increased the choc chips but shoudln't have, it made that top choc layer too chick - for me. I would also use milk chips next time. I guess I kind of wish the bars were a little thicker. If the pan were smaller then you might not need to increase everything. I might experiment with that the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Easy to make and tasty, but I had trouble keeping the bars together. Still, it was a fine recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
these were AMAZING. i actually substituted the pecans for walnuts and it was a HUGE hit. they disappeared in a few hours. they are sweet, nutty, and so addicting: perfect for a sweet tooth. but definitely try walnuts. AWESOME RECIPE :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I followed the recipe precisely, and mine seemed greasy and grainy (like the brown sugar didn't ever completely dissolve). Probably not my best use of good butter. . . Maybe if I had cooked them longer than the recipe said, but I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
These are great! Very sweet but good for the sweet tooth! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States