Pecan Turtle Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Doubled recipe, baked in jelly roll pan for 25minutes. Did not have brown sugar so for doubled recipe used 3cups white sugar AND 1cup molasses (total). Lined pan with aluminum foil then lined that pan with parchmant paper; was very easy to remove and slice after they were cooled. Will make again! Thank you, Marlyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Great recipe as is, but is also versatile enough to handle variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cornwall, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karri-ann Flater
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Very good, very rich and satisfying. My family described it as "caramel pecan fudge with chocolate on top". The only change I made was after I finished making the caramel sauce on the stove, I added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tablespoon of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karri-ann Flater

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Pauline
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
These taste phenomenal! I had intended to follow the recipe exactly; however, when I got to the step of sprinkling on the chocolate chips, I found that I did have to use 2 cups of chocolate chips rather than 1 in order to cover the entire surface area. I also baked these in a 9X9 square springform pan. This resulted in a thicker cookie crust which was crunchy and delicious. Also, with the springform pan, it was super easy to slide the entire finished product onto a cutting board!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I took these to work for the holidays and they were a hit. They are VERY rich so make sure you cut them small. I did use 2 c. of flour in the base instead of the 1 1/2 cups also. It is necessary. Make sure you use butter instead of margarine. It will be a richer yummy flavor and not a greasy blob. Very easy to assemble. I used my food processor for the base and it was a whiz to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I found this recipe around Thanksgiving...I have made about 4 batches now and it is not even Christmas yet!! Needless to say that every time I have baked them they have disappeared quickly...The flavor improves the next day if you can keep them that long!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Eatonton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
So after reading all of the recommendations, I used 2 c. flour, 2 c. chocolate chips and 1 1/2 c. pecans per numerous recommendations. This is in addition to doubling the butter/brown sugar mix. As a result they were a total bust. Buy doubling the brown sugar/butter mix it just seeps into the crust making it way too sweet, its like eating straight sugar...yuck! And I LOVE anything sweet or chocolately. Also, by using 2 c. of chocolate chips its just way too much chocolate, it takes away from the rest of the dessert. Should have just followed the recipe and avoided the recommendations. Waste of money on my part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I followed the advice of Katie JL and the squares did not turn out as she said. The semisweet chocolate chips and the butterscotch chips did not spread as they were supposed to. So I ended up with lumpy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I just made this recipe after reading all the reviews, however I was a confused when reviewers said they doubled the caramel layer! It calls for 2/3 cup of butter which is almost 11 tablespoons so you doubled that and used 22 tablespoons of butter and 1 cup of brown sugar? I decided to use my old standby caramel sauce of 1 cup brown sugar to 1 and 1/2 sticks of butter and whisked it together. I also used 2 cups flour, crushed my pecans with a rolling pin, and used almost a whole bag of milk chocolate chips. Still cooling but I can't stop picking at them. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
My son actually swooned when he tasted them. They are really delicious and take no time at all to put together. I do have an observation, though. I'm sure I used a lot more than a cup of pecans. I had some very large halves and I just laid them all over the crust. There was space between, but not a lot. Second, I'm also certain that I used more than one cup of chocolate morsels. I just wasn't getting the coverage that I thought should happen, so I used more. I used semi-sweet instead of milk chocolate because that's what I had on hand. Third - I sprinkled a TINY amount of Fleur de Sel sea salt over the finished pan before cooling completely. The rage seems to be salted caramel, and it sounded good so I did it. DEE-licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary-Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States