Pecan Turtle Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I didn't care for the texture of the bottom layer. I might try using more butter next time. It was very crumbly, and almost resembled sand. Also, I needed more chocolate chips than the recipe called for. I'm going to play around with the measurements and try this again, because I love turles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mochick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This recipe was so delicious!!! Instead of using pecans I used halved almonds that were equally as good. Also, I used different chocolate chip toppings for each of the batches that I made one dark chocolate, one milk chocolate, one white chocolate, and one peanut butter chocolate. The white chocolate one was my favorite and I highly recommend using it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
These were WONDERFUL the next day. Will defiantly make these again just a day before we eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pagettgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These are VERY good. My husband loved them! I think I may have cooked it a little too long because it tasted more like toffee than turtles but it was great that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These were ok. I may try again, but add more carmel and a little more chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
The crust is a little too thick. Next time I might try it in a baking sheet to thin out the crust a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Hmmm...should have read the other reviews first. I found that the caramel layer wasn't enough to cover the bars. I'll try to double it next time. Also, though I baked these the minimum amount of time, I found the caramel layer became hard and slightly burnt tasting. I was hoping for a gooey caramel layer like real turtles. I will try to reduce baking time if I ever bake these again. Certainly looked better in the picture than they turned out. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Cut these in small portions cause they are sweet but REALLY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These tasted amazing and were easy to make. I followed previous suggestions to use 2 c flour and 2c choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Simply put... Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States