Pecan Tassies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This was pretty delicious, I have to say. BUT... directions need to say that you need to spray the cups before you put the pastry dough into them. Also, I doubled it, and had a heck of a time dividing up the dough into 48 portions. Near as I can tell, it was about a tablespoon of dough per mini-muffin. My first batch was scant, and the filling spilled over and stuck all the tassies to the pan. Not enough curse words in the world for that.... but lessons learned. And if they're helpful to any of you, all the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
if you use mini cupcake pans and a wooden dowel dipped in flour it makes perfect mini pies. the dowel can be purcased at almost at any kitchen store or in pamered chef book. cuts crust prepare time in 1/4 . this is one of our family favs. always end up making min 4 batches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Very good. They have a gooey center for sure. I wasn't certain that they were done at first, and put them in for another 10 mins. I did not do the mini tin, but used the regular, and cooked for 5 extra min. The flavor was definitely there though. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Just like we made growing up! Delicious! The only changes I made was to use 3/4 cup of pecans instead of 1/4, and I didn't top the tassies with a whole pecan. I also had to make a second batch of the dough as I had way more filling left and was out of dough! Otherwise these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
These are a bit time consuming but pretty easy. I added the chopped pecans to the batter just because I'm lazy and tend to be a bad judge of equally dividing things. I think I should've ignored the directions and divided the dough into smaller portions; I ended up with a bit extra pecan batter so I just baked it without the dough. However, some of the tassies had a bit more dough than needed. They taste a bit eggy according to the bf--I'd agree to some extent, although I wouldn't have noticed if he hadn't said anything. I like them, but I like the pecan pie bars II on here a lot better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I just made my first pecan tassies today using this recipe. Oh my, they are just wonderful. I followed the recipe closely. I agree that the crust does not need added sugar. It is a nice contrast to the sweet interior of the tassie. I had never made little crusts like this before but by the time I got to the last ones, I was getting the feel for it (I had to cut my fingernail short on my right index finger so I could shape them without putting my fingernail through the bottoms). I used almost a half cup of chopped nuts in the bottom as suggested by others and a half teaspoon in each crust worked out great. I will be serving them tomorrow in our art gallery for a reception. They should be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
We REALLY enjoyed these. We made two batches. One batch as written and for the second batch, my husband added 3 dark chocolate chips to each tassie before adding the batter and pecan. Both batches were delicious. Also, we used a ½ teaspoon of chopped pecans and ½ tablespoon of batter for each tassie. Using these measures made the assembly process faster. To form the little shells: We just put a plastic sandwich bag over the top of an unopened bottle of marinade. Just invert the bottle and press it into the dough ball. This forms a decent shell rather quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Versailles, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
A buttery crust and brown sugar filling...how can you beat that? The only change I made to this recipe was to use another 1/4 cup chopped pecans on top of the tarts instead of pecan halves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Very Good! Very Easy! Made these for my BF, I don't like Pecan Pie.... I loved these!! So easy to make and delicious!! Thanks for the post. Think I will try to double recipe and make these in regular muffin size for a larger indulgence. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmspunky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dugway, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Delicious...too bad I'll have to share them !!!! Thx for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States