Pecan Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
Overall, this is a keeper of a recipe. However, I had to make some adjustments as I went along. First, make sure that the eggs that you use are large, or extra-large, otherwise you will have to use a little water to make the pastry the right consistency to pat into the mini muffin pan. Also, I added a pinch of salt to both the pastry dough, and the filling. It's kind of cumbersome to work with one pan as I did...if I make this recipe again, which I probably will, I will invest in another muffin tin, that way I can bake the shells all at the same temperature, and then lower the temp for the filling. Otherwise, this is a very nice recipe to fill in your holiday cookie tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Wonderful - big hit!! Don't forget to have some halved pecans on hand for the tops - the list of ingredients leaves this out. I add a pinch of salt, and decrease the almond extract to 1/2 tsp - the almond flavor is a bit overpowering. *Note that the recipe says to decrease the temperature when baking with the filling* - it's easy to overlook that instruction. Also, it helps to separate the dough before shaping it (makes exactly 24 shells). I have made these several times, and I now cut the filling ingredients in half because I end up with so much left over (tastes great warmed over vanilla ice cream though!). A very pretty way to serve them is to place them on a large white platter, and arrange blueberries and whole strawberries with the stems around them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
I thought these were quite alot of work for the outcome. I liked the tarts, but you really have to stay on top of these. I only cooked the shells for 5 minutes (dot of brown in center), or they were compeletely burnt after the second bake. Once I got the cook time down, they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
These tarts were great! My whole family and my church loved them! I lined the muffin tins with tiny muffin cups to make it less messy and they turned out fine. Great recipe and a very attractive dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
My first time with pecan tarts. I should have realized when mixing the crust that the crust is more cookie-like than pie-crust-like. My crust was a little hard, probably due to over-baking. As mentioned by another reviewer, the ingredient list does not list 'pecan halves'. Fortunately, I had a bunch of pecans in the freezer and was able to select enough presentable halves. I used a twenty-four section mini-muffin pan and felt that my crust was a bit thick in places in the bottom. Had the crust been thinner, I would have had many more than twenty-four. I had at least half the filling left, so...? The taste of the crust and filling was very good. For those who try this recipe as first-timers, just be aware of the quantities/ratio of crust and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
I didn't realize that this recipe was for the mini muffin cup pan and since I had some regular sized frozen tart shells in my freezer I used them instead and just followed the rest of the recipe from the filling on. However, I made a mistake and filled them without baking the shells first and ended up having to bake the filled tarts for 25 minutes. Not that it was such a bad thing, in fact we liked them even better, they turned out really chewy like candy and the filling baked into the pastry part and gave the crust a really nice taste.(they were a little difficult to get out of the aluminum shell though because they bubbled slightly over the edge - had to use a fork - so I wouldn't make them like this for company) I will try these again, but bake the pastry part first to see the difference. It made 7 regular sized tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Very easy to make and very delicous!! I had leftover tart shells prior to making this, so I only made the filling. End result tasted like the store bought brand!!! Maybe better! I found that if you're just going to make the filling, then to fill the tart shells almost to the top and then cover with pecans. So if you have 6 tart shells, make enough filling for 12. I also found I had to put these in the fridge afterwards so that the filling would solidify a bit more. I don't know if others found this a problem and maybe I didn't leave it in the oven long enough. But overall, takes two minutes to prepare!! Very convenient dessert :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I think that the directions could be improved, and the end result is really a 3 or 4 star recipe. Be sure to grind the pecans for the filling if you prefer the soft/even consitency like store bought tarts. I cooked the filling over medium heat, and let it boil for about 30 seconds before taking it off the burner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
I'm made three batches of these for Christmas this year, and they were the best. I added them to my neighbors and friends Christmas baskets and was asked for the recipe. I didn't change anything in the recipe. Will make again and not just for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I followed the recipe to a "T" when making the crusts, but the dough was FAR too dry. I added a a tablespoon more margarine, but the end result was crumbly tart crusts- they were TOO crumbly. I loved the filling! I will search the site for another suggestion for the shells though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Dooney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States