Pecan Surprise Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
My husband and all of my extended family absolutely loves this pie! I make it exactly like the recipe reads except I cook it for an extra 5 minutes or so. It always fills a large pie pan and it bakes up beautifully. I will confirm that a glass or ceramic dish is best with a roll out pie crust instead of the pre-made metal tin pie crusts. But even then, it's still good. The only recommendation I have is to let it cook an extra 5 to 8 minutes more than mentioned above. I cook on the center rack so as not to over brown my pecans but I think it sets up much better with that extra 5 minutes on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Piedmont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Easy, rich, and delicious! I followed the recipe except left out the cloves, which are a little strong for our taste. Perfect holiday dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Don't change a think, simply yummy! As with any cheese cake type dessert, make a day earlier for full flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This is my new obsession. Delicious, creamy, and not cloyingly sweet! I omitted the cloves because I don't like their taste, so it had just a hint of cinnamon flavor to it, which was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Loved it! I am not a fan of the sweetness of a regular pecan pie but my husband is. This was a great compromise. I followed the recipe but next time I will leave out the cloves (just a personal preference as neither of us are fans of his spice). Our company however, loved it just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Everyone seemed to really enjoy this pie very much. But I didn't feel the crust was done on the bottom. Next time I would partially pre-bake the crust first. Because the bottom crust wasn't well done it kind of mushed into the custardy part of the pie and I didn't find that very appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Delicious! I needed to feed a crowd so I used a shortbread crust and made these into bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarajo614

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Very yummy and very easy. Made for a dinner party and folks raved about it. Not overly sweet like many desserts. Omitted the cloves and still great. Would use maybe a half cup more pecans next time and the store bought crust I used was not the best, but I for sure will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAIGEWATSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Yummy! This was a very good pie, nice change from the normal pecan pie. And it was really easy to make. I did have to change it up just a bit. I only had about 1/3 cup of light corn syrup so I used that and the rest dark corn syrup. Also left out the cloves. My family really loved this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was superb! The "cheesecake" layer is perfect to balance out the gooey sweetness of a pecan pie. I will be making it like this from now on! I took this as the desert to a family gathering, and the compliments kept coming. Also was asked for the recipe by everyone there! I made this on the spur of the moment and only had 1/2 a cup of pecans, so I used chopped walnuts for the rest and it was still delicious! (In fact, no one even realized it was mostly walnuts until I passed out the recipe!) Thanks for the great recipe, it's a definitely a keeper! And a tip for getting a good bottom crust without having to pre-bake is to always use a glass or ceramic dish, stay away from the aluminum pans...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States