Pecan Surprise Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Don't change a think, simply yummy! As with any cheese cake type dessert, make a day earlier for full flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This is my new obsession. Delicious, creamy, and not cloyingly sweet! I omitted the cloves because I don't like their taste, so it had just a hint of cinnamon flavor to it, which was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Loved it! I am not a fan of the sweetness of a regular pecan pie but my husband is. This was a great compromise. I followed the recipe but next time I will leave out the cloves (just a personal preference as neither of us are fans of his spice). Our company however, loved it just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Everyone seemed to really enjoy this pie very much. But I didn't feel the crust was done on the bottom. Next time I would partially pre-bake the crust first. Because the bottom crust wasn't well done it kind of mushed into the custardy part of the pie and I didn't find that very appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Delicious! I needed to feed a crowd so I used a shortbread crust and made these into bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarajo614

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Very yummy and very easy. Made for a dinner party and folks raved about it. Not overly sweet like many desserts. Omitted the cloves and still great. Would use maybe a half cup more pecans next time and the store bought crust I used was not the best, but I for sure will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAIGEWATSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Yummy! This was a very good pie, nice change from the normal pecan pie. And it was really easy to make. I did have to change it up just a bit. I only had about 1/3 cup of light corn syrup so I used that and the rest dark corn syrup. Also left out the cloves. My family really loved this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was superb! The "cheesecake" layer is perfect to balance out the gooey sweetness of a pecan pie. I will be making it like this from now on! I took this as the desert to a family gathering, and the compliments kept coming. Also was asked for the recipe by everyone there! I made this on the spur of the moment and only had 1/2 a cup of pecans, so I used chopped walnuts for the rest and it was still delicious! (In fact, no one even realized it was mostly walnuts until I passed out the recipe!) Thanks for the great recipe, it's a definitely a keeper! And a tip for getting a good bottom crust without having to pre-bake is to always use a glass or ceramic dish, stay away from the aluminum pans...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!! THE WONDERFUL TASTE OF PECAN PIE WITHOUT THE CLOYING SWEETNESS. THIS IS MY FAVORITE PECAN PIE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
Everyone loved this pie. Great combination for pecan pie and cheesecake lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States