Pecan Sticky Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
WOW! YUM!Stefanie, you outdid yourself, lady! These are sooooo wonderful. The dough part is absolutely perfect. These are like the sticky buns I buy for $2.75 each at a local bakery. I baked in a 9X13 at 375 degrees for exactly 23 minutes. PEERRFECT! How come so few reviews? PEOPLE! TRY THIS RECIPE! You won't be sorry. I used my bread machine... didn't even need to scale this down. I have a Zojirushi and I knew it made large loaves, but I didn't think it would handle this much dough.....but it did....with flying colors. Thanks Stefanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I skipped all the dough making and used a loaf of bread I had been defrosting in the fridge, (I loaf is enough for half of the recipe, either use two loaves or cut the rest of the ingredients in half). Used a square 9X9 glass baking dish, let them covered in fridge over night, in AM removed from fridge let them rise the rest of the way and baked them. They were so delicious and EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
What a lovely recipe! First off, I prefer raisins to pecans, whereas my fiancee likes both. So I made one pan with raisins only topping, and one pan with raisins and pecans. I put in a LOT of raisins, over a cup, because I was trying to duplicate a bakery recipe I remeber from childhood. I also added raisins and pecans to the middle of the respective doughs before rolling them up. They turned out beautifully! The only thing to keep in mind if you like to stuff the rolls with extra goodies, put some tinfoil on the second over rack - my rolls bubbled over and dripped a little while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Wow!!! These buns were soooo good. They weren't that sticky , but they were rich and moist. I will definitely make this again and keep the recipe. Thanks Stephanie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2000
I substituted the butter and margarine with Spray Fat Free "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter", which doesn't make as gooey as butter or margarine, but makes it a much lower fat. But, I had to heat it at a lower heat with the brown sugar. I also did not use the egg yolks. It did turn out a tad drier, but it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
YUMMMMMMMMY...Gooey and sticky, just like a pecan buns should be! Scaled ingredients to fit into my bread machine and used dough cycle. Used combo of pecans and walnuts, which is what I had on hand. I spread more than 1 T butter on dough, more like 2-3 T. Used 13x9 pan instead of 2-9" round pans and baked 25 minutes. Dough rose high and house smelled wonderful while they baked. This recipe goes into our permanent rotation to be used frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schafer5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Awesome recipe! The dough turned out perfect. I've modified the cooking time a bit (it could be because I'm at a higher elevation). I cooked it for about 25 minutes at 350 degrees. They turned out great. Be careful, if your dish isn't deep enough the butter will spill into the oven and make a mess. I also used the same dough recipe to make orange rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
These are great! Honestly, I like the taste of another similar recipe from this site a LITTLE bit better BUT these are MUCH easier and don't take 3 hours to make one batch. Still, the taste of these are 5-star worthy. AND THEY MAKE ALOT (if you roll/cut right = they make 24 rolls!)!! I might try halving the recipe next time. A highly recommended recipe! Went great with our french toast and smoothie breakfast...the BEST way to wake up on a Saturday morning! Didn't and wouldn't change a thing!! Thanks so much Stefanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
These were very easy to make and did taste delicious! I used a 9x13 pan like others did, but the middle buns didn't seem to get cooked all the way (probably the cook's error). Definitely will make again. Family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Thanks for making this recipe painless! This was my 1st successful sticky bun attempt. Aunt Jenny...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States