Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
worked really well, I just needed this recipe for plain poundcake, so I didnt do pecans. I added almond extract and poppy seeds. a good recipe for pound cake, and really heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsamii
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
OMG I MOST OF DID SOMETHING WRONG IT LOOKS PRETTY BUT IT DON'T TASTE GOOD AT ALL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NETTA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This is a great cake and I wouldn't change anything when making it. I personally didn't use the pecans cause I didn't have any. I will say this got better the next day but is not really a pound cake consistently...a little more like a thick cake. But very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This by far the best pound cake ever! I sometimes have added lemon zest or lemon extract to the recipe as my husband LOVES Lemon cakes. I have also added spices to the recipe on occasion and it turned out as an awesome spiced pound cake. This cake also freezes very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Wonderful cake! All my children loved it, even my hard to please teenager. Unlinke some other commentors, I wouldn't recommend reducing the amount of sugar, though this is probably just a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was so good! I made it into a 2-layer 9-inch cake for my mom's birthday so I lowered the oven temperature a little and watched it closely. I made the glaze a little thicker to be more like frosting but it would have been fine as a glaze too. I sprinkled pecans on the bottom of just one of the pans, which went in the middle with the filling. I also mixed about 1/4 cup of pecans in with the flour mixture. This cake was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xx thinkpink xo
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I baked it exactly as instructed with no changes, and my entire family loved it. The glaze over top with the pecans was a perfect touch. Next time I may mix some chopped pecans into the batter itself to add something more. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This cake had the taste and texture of an angel food cake rather than a pound cake. Also, the glaze didn't enhance the flavor at all. I was disappointed in this recipe - won't use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Verena
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Love it! At first I was a little apprehensive about putting the orange glaze on top of the cake. I was worried that the orange would somehow overpower the cake but I wanted to make it the way the recipe stated and I was pleasantly surprised! It just works and I loved it! I baked mine in a tube pan and just as other reviewers stated, it was a little difficult to get out of the pan and I'm not sure why. This is an excellent recipe. Simple to make with a down home taste. Really good, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Good, but not excellent. I made some minor changes, I reduced the sugar to 2 cups and I'm glad I did, and added about 2 tbsp of vanilla. The texture was wonderful, but not as dense as I'd like, which is weird considering the thickness of the batter! I did split the recipe in half and made half w/ the pecans and the other half I added the zest of a lemon and about a cup of blueberries. This was delicious!! Will be keeping this one in the recipe box,,, but will continue to tweak I think, until we have it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanna1752

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Herkimer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States