Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was very good and easy to make. However, 1 1/2 cups of sugar was plenty. So glad that I read the reviews before adding all 3 cups. Also, I used a maple glaze (heated maple syrup, butter, milk, coconut, mixed into sifted powdered sugar) Then I added chopped pecans on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was a really good pound cake... I love love love it... Next time I will add pecans to the mix but other than that it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I made this yesterday for a potluck and I was suprisingly disappointed in the results. It came out way too thick and dry. I made sure not to overmix while adding the flour. I wound up sadly throwing half of the cake away. I gave it 2 stars because the flavor was pretty good. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawnda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
In a word…Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I have been making this cake for a few years, after finding the recipe in the Allrecipes cookbook. It never fails! The texture, taste, and appearance is consistently outstanding. Nothing needs tweaking as far as I am concerned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queennana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Fabulous recipe! Fabulous pound cake! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Best poundcake ive ever made!!!! However ive used 1/4 cup of fresh lemon juice, 2 cups of powdered sugar, 1 tsp pure vanilla for a glaze instead an omitted the pecans, I also, added at one time 1-1/2 cups of mashed bananas, 1 tsp of banana an vanilla extract. Omitted the 3 cups of sugar for 2 cups, the bananas make them sweet as well.My kids love it! ust perfect, moist, sweet,crunchy 2 thumbs up to the owner of this recipe, THANKS.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This is a classic recipe for pound cake but this is the first time I've made it with cake flour rather than all purpose. I've decided either can be used with perfect results. Moist, dense, buttery and delicious, just as a good pound cake should be - so long as you cream the butter and sugar well, don't overmix once the flour mixture is added, and don't overbake! I skipped the pecans and threw in maybe 1-1/2 cups of blueberries. To finish, I topped the cake with a glaze of powdered sugar and lemon juice. I used a specialty Bundt cake pan and between it and the polka dots of blueberries it made for a beautiful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
MY MY MY!!!! I am a new cooking with a live-in boyfriend and he is oh so picky. I made this cake and WOAH! it is so easy to follow and so ggod. he and all of his friends loved this cake. I did change a thing. Thanks for this great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
It was a little on the sweet side, especially if you included the topping. Next time I will probably reduced the sugar a little. I made this for a Memorial Day picinic and no mentioned it being a little on the sweet side, they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelmichelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States