Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Very dense and heavy cake !!!Like other reviews, I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and it was sweet enough.I omited the glaze as I do not like glazes on cakes. I baked the cake at 325 for 60 -70 min . Next time I would reduce the eggs to 3 and reduce the butter to 1/2 cup as I really don't like dense cakes. As is this cake would be a good base for a trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
First time baking a pound cake. Excellent. Moist. Fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I decreased the sugar to 2 cups and I increased the vanilla to 1 tablespoon. Baked at 325 for 60 to 75 minutes in a bundt pan. I didn't use the pecans. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This was incredibly good. I have tried several versions of pond cake and this is the only one that has turned out well. I did some modifications to accommodate my hubby's lactose intolerance and my unwillingness to go to the grocery store for ingredients. I substituted the sour cream for a tofutti "sour cream" and the butter for a lactose free butter, I cut the salt in half because the butter was salted and I used almonds instead ofpecans since I had them on hand. It turned out nicely and we will be making this again and again. Why 4 stars instead of 5? Only because I had to modify ithe recipe so technically I didn't follow it exactly. I gotta say though, if this recipe is so good with "tofutti", its gotta be even better with the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Just like my grandma use to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HEIDI
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Excellent cake, moist and Easy to make. This is a Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIDI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I will not make this cake again. I follwed the recipe to a tee. After the allotted cooking time, the cake was still as raw as it was when I finished mixing it. I give this recipe no stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Bryan Klase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elba, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I have made this cake on several occassions and it is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donae
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This cake turned out marvelous! It's super moist and was very easy to make. Just be sure to whip the butter and sour cream long enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Make this every Christmas eve for Christmas morning breakfast. It has become a tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States