Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
4 stars for flavor but came out drier than other pound cakes I've made and I only left it in the oven for 65 min. Dissapointed with the dryness but will hold up well with strawberries and ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
My end result was good AFTER several adjustments, hence the 3 stars. I decreased the amount of sugar, increased the amount of vanilla, added pecans to the cake and on top and didn't overbake it. I used another recipe for the icing as I don't like OJ added to my icing. I cut the recipe in half because I was only serving 4 people. Good, but NOT great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very, very sweet. Next time I will try 1 1/2 cups sugar. 3 cups sugar??? Also took over 2 hrs to cook. Was not what I expected. Won't recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Doo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxbury, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glenvicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Very dense and heavy cake !!!Like other reviews, I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and it was sweet enough.I omited the glaze as I do not like glazes on cakes. I baked the cake at 325 for 60 -70 min . Next time I would reduce the eggs to 3 and reduce the butter to 1/2 cup as I really don't like dense cakes. As is this cake would be a good base for a trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
First time baking a pound cake. Excellent. Moist. Fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I decreased the sugar to 2 cups and I increased the vanilla to 1 tablespoon. Baked at 325 for 60 to 75 minutes in a bundt pan. I didn't use the pecans. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This was incredibly good. I have tried several versions of pond cake and this is the only one that has turned out well. I did some modifications to accommodate my hubby's lactose intolerance and my unwillingness to go to the grocery store for ingredients. I substituted the sour cream for a tofutti "sour cream" and the butter for a lactose free butter, I cut the salt in half because the butter was salted and I used almonds instead ofpecans since I had them on hand. It turned out nicely and we will be making this again and again. Why 4 stars instead of 5? Only because I had to modify ithe recipe so technically I didn't follow it exactly. I gotta say though, if this recipe is so good with "tofutti", its gotta be even better with the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Just like my grandma use to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HEIDI
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Excellent cake, moist and Easy to make. This is a Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIDI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States