Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I made this pound cake over 10 times in the last month to send in care packages to the Middle East. Everyone loved it, and my family at home kept begging me to eat them as I was making them. I've experimented with rum and almond...this is a terrific base recipe, and my current top pound cake pick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
Great cake!! Took advice from others and used 2 cups flour and 1 cup chopped fine pecans, was great. Didn't have time to frost this cake but it didn't need it. Had great reviews from everybody at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Not really a fan of this recipe, sorry. I did not have pecans and decided to dust with 10X sugar instaed of orange glaze, maybe that was the problem. Family said to stick with my other pound cake recipes, but in all fairness, I think that I'll try it again using the pecans and orange glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Absolutely excellent! Wonderful flavor and texture, and the pecans and orange glaze add a little of the unexpected. I won a ribbon for this cake in ourlocal fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This is a delicious cake. I only put in 2 cups of sugar and it was plenty sweet. I also added a cup of fresh raspberries and a cinnamon sugar swirl though the center. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
DEVINE!!!! Just what I was looking for. Only made 2 changes, didn't use the pecans (my husband is allergic, but can't wait to try making it with the pecans for my dad and myself)and added one ingredient to the recipe-added 1 tsp. of almond extract (along with the 1 tsp. of vanilla extract) My favorite pound cake is the Tastefully Simple Absolutely Almond Pound Cake and this is pretty close. My kids prefer this over chocolate chip cookies! LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
It was great. I had to leave out the nuts due to allergies. I split the batter and baked one in a loaf pan and 2 in small brownie pans. I left the loaf plain, but I spread raspberry preserves between the other 2 and drizzled with chocolate glaze. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristina S
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
My friends and family love this cake. I made it for special events and its a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
My first ever pound cake attempt was a HUGE success with this recipe. My boyfriend advise a cake this good deserved a marriage proposal. Moist several days later with a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
This was made for a friend's husband that only likes Sour Cream Pound Cakes from Publix's.... I omitted the nuts as I am allergic to them and can't cook with them, but everything else was the same. Her husband now only wants me to bake his pound cakes! This was a very moist cake. Will make again! I used a bundt pan to bake it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARILYNJ100

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gray, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States