Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Not really a fan of this recipe, sorry. I did not have pecans and decided to dust with 10X sugar instaed of orange glaze, maybe that was the problem. Family said to stick with my other pound cake recipes, but in all fairness, I think that I'll try it again using the pecans and orange glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Absolutely excellent! Wonderful flavor and texture, and the pecans and orange glaze add a little of the unexpected. I won a ribbon for this cake in ourlocal fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This is a delicious cake. I only put in 2 cups of sugar and it was plenty sweet. I also added a cup of fresh raspberries and a cinnamon sugar swirl though the center. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
DEVINE!!!! Just what I was looking for. Only made 2 changes, didn't use the pecans (my husband is allergic, but can't wait to try making it with the pecans for my dad and myself)and added one ingredient to the recipe-added 1 tsp. of almond extract (along with the 1 tsp. of vanilla extract) My favorite pound cake is the Tastefully Simple Absolutely Almond Pound Cake and this is pretty close. My kids prefer this over chocolate chip cookies! LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
It was great. I had to leave out the nuts due to allergies. I split the batter and baked one in a loaf pan and 2 in small brownie pans. I left the loaf plain, but I spread raspberry preserves between the other 2 and drizzled with chocolate glaze. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristina S
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
My friends and family love this cake. I made it for special events and its a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
My first ever pound cake attempt was a HUGE success with this recipe. My boyfriend advise a cake this good deserved a marriage proposal. Moist several days later with a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
This was made for a friend's husband that only likes Sour Cream Pound Cakes from Publix's.... I omitted the nuts as I am allergic to them and can't cook with them, but everything else was the same. Her husband now only wants me to bake his pound cakes! This was a very moist cake. Will make again! I used a bundt pan to bake it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARILYNJ100

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gray, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Yum. Very delicious pound cake. I used 2 cups white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar; it gave the cake a heartier taste. I got great reviews from the whole family! Really quite easy to make as well. Great for dessert, with coffee, or just for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bignosekate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States