Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Everytime I bake this pound cake, it receives rave reviews. I have baked it with and without the pecans and glaze. Either way it is a hit. I have given out the recipe more times than I can remember. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I have made this cake MANY times & love it! A couple of changes I do is I chop the pecans & throw them right into the mix. I tried pouring them over as recipe states once but it seemed didn't like the way it looked when finished. Also, I bake at 325 for 1 hour & it is usually perfect in my bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzan Toscano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This cake was a big hit at work. It was very moist, not at all dry. Thanks for a great pound cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Wonderful! A moist cake that's better if you add rum and almond extract. I also added 1/2 cup pecan meal to the batter. Double yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti'sPantry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA
Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I made this pound cake over 10 times in the last month to send in care packages to the Middle East. Everyone loved it, and my family at home kept begging me to eat them as I was making them. I've experimented with rum and almond...this is a terrific base recipe, and my current top pound cake pick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
Great cake!! Took advice from others and used 2 cups flour and 1 cup chopped fine pecans, was great. Didn't have time to frost this cake but it didn't need it. Had great reviews from everybody at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Not really a fan of this recipe, sorry. I did not have pecans and decided to dust with 10X sugar instaed of orange glaze, maybe that was the problem. Family said to stick with my other pound cake recipes, but in all fairness, I think that I'll try it again using the pecans and orange glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Absolutely excellent! Wonderful flavor and texture, and the pecans and orange glaze add a little of the unexpected. I won a ribbon for this cake in ourlocal fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This is a delicious cake. I only put in 2 cups of sugar and it was plenty sweet. I also added a cup of fresh raspberries and a cinnamon sugar swirl though the center. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
DEVINE!!!! Just what I was looking for. Only made 2 changes, didn't use the pecans (my husband is allergic, but can't wait to try making it with the pecans for my dad and myself)and added one ingredient to the recipe-added 1 tsp. of almond extract (along with the 1 tsp. of vanilla extract) My favorite pound cake is the Tastefully Simple Absolutely Almond Pound Cake and this is pretty close. My kids prefer this over chocolate chip cookies! LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States