Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is a great cake. The pecans are really great in the cake. The only thing I didn't love was the glaze. I'm not sure orange is a flavor that goes really well with the cake. Next time I'll just use milk in the glaze. But it was still really good. I made these in Nordic ware mini bundt pans, and they were so cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by bread-n-butter
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I made this pound cake and it was wonderful. I used half cake flour and half all-purpose flour. It was wonderful. I had my coworkers wanting to slap my momma!...lol...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bread-n-butter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mound City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
My family and I love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
If you are looking for the perfect pound cake look no furthere. This is the best pound cake ever. It isn't as dense as the ones you get in the store but I like my pound cakes a little lighter. I don't ever use the glaze b/c this cake stands alone just fine. I make it all the time and always get requests for the recipe. This is a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I recommend using organic sugar which has a milder sweetness without the harshness of bleached white sugar. I juice organic lemons/oranges for the glaze, organic fruit just has more flavor and if you haven't tried any you are missing out. Same for the pecans. Try fresh, organic. If you are going to take the time to prepare a recipe that is labor-intensive, fresh flour and the best ingredients make a difference. This is a delicious, moist and firm cake recipe that my mother-in-law would have had in her composition notebook. She taught me to cook and she would have loved this recipe. It's old-fashioned goodness. Bless you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayport, New York, USA
Living In: Larimore, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Great recipe. I separate the eggs and whip the egg whites until stiff and fold them in at the VERY end. This is not too sweet to my family, this recipe is a very typical pound cake recipe. Wonderful. The glaze is not necessary but good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Suberb!! I gave it four because 3 cups of sugar is WAY to sweet for me. I used two cups and yogurt instead of sourcream, either one would work. Served with a lemon sauce, fresh blueberries, kiwi, and strawberries.......Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Delicious! Enjoyed making and guests enjoyed eating. I have also make almond variations as well. A special cake to make. I did not find it too sweet at all and neither did anyone I asked. Wonderful pound cake consistency. The glaze was well-liked as well. Will definitely make again. Great with coffee, for breakfast gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This recipe is ABSOLUTELY awesome. It is an all time favorite. Enough said!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
EXCELLENT RECIPE!!! IT'S MOIST AND DELICIOUS! I CAN'T WAIT TO SHARE WITH MY FRIENDS FOR THE 4TH OF JULY!! I DID CUT BACK ON THE SUGAR AND ADDED A LITTLE MORE FLOUR AND SOUR CREAM!! TASTES GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States