Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
If you are looking for the perfect pound cake look no furthere. This is the best pound cake ever. It isn't as dense as the ones you get in the store but I like my pound cakes a little lighter. I don't ever use the glaze b/c this cake stands alone just fine. I make it all the time and always get requests for the recipe. This is a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I recommend using organic sugar which has a milder sweetness without the harshness of bleached white sugar. I juice organic lemons/oranges for the glaze, organic fruit just has more flavor and if you haven't tried any you are missing out. Same for the pecans. Try fresh, organic. If you are going to take the time to prepare a recipe that is labor-intensive, fresh flour and the best ingredients make a difference. This is a delicious, moist and firm cake recipe that my mother-in-law would have had in her composition notebook. She taught me to cook and she would have loved this recipe. It's old-fashioned goodness. Bless you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayport, New York, USA
Living In: Larimore, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Great recipe. I separate the eggs and whip the egg whites until stiff and fold them in at the VERY end. This is not too sweet to my family, this recipe is a very typical pound cake recipe. Wonderful. The glaze is not necessary but good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Suberb!! I gave it four because 3 cups of sugar is WAY to sweet for me. I used two cups and yogurt instead of sourcream, either one would work. Served with a lemon sauce, fresh blueberries, kiwi, and strawberries.......Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Delicious! Enjoyed making and guests enjoyed eating. I have also make almond variations as well. A special cake to make. I did not find it too sweet at all and neither did anyone I asked. Wonderful pound cake consistency. The glaze was well-liked as well. Will definitely make again. Great with coffee, for breakfast gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This recipe is ABSOLUTELY awesome. It is an all time favorite. Enough said!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
EXCELLENT RECIPE!!! IT'S MOIST AND DELICIOUS! I CAN'T WAIT TO SHARE WITH MY FRIENDS FOR THE 4TH OF JULY!! I DID CUT BACK ON THE SUGAR AND ADDED A LITTLE MORE FLOUR AND SOUR CREAM!! TASTES GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This is delicious! Made it for my hubby's birthday cake, and he loved it. I added 2 tablesppons sugar to the pecan mix; other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I generally don't have good luck with pound cakes, but I followed the instructions to the letter, and it was perfect--it has a wonderful crunchy crust and that good pound cake flavor. Definitely a repeat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I made this cake today and I loved it. It came out very light and moist. I used 2 cups of Splenda instead of sugar and 1/2 cup of the Splenda Brown Sugar Blend. I also used 1 1/2 cups of sour cream. I mixed a half cup of walnuts with 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and 3 tablespoons of Brown sugar and put it into the center of the mixture. It really came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I love this cake! I've baked it several times and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States