Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Excellent cake!! If you want to talk about slapping your mom over any food, get ready to slap your mom for THIS cake!! I added 1 1/2 tsps of almond extract, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I though this recipe was great and was easy to modify. I layered the cake with ribbons of almond cocoa spread and used crushed almonds instead of pecans. The cake was moist and a wonderful consistency it turned out great with cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I just finished baking it. And it has a milky flavor which is good but it is too sweet. Probably it would be better if sugar was half the quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Wow - what an amazing pound cake this recipe made. So delicious and buttery and melt in your mouthy! It had this wonderful little crispy crust on the outside too. Only thing I did different was to make the glaze with lemon juice and not orange juice. Otherwise I followed it to a T and it came out INCREDIBLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I added a caramel glazed to it. My family LOVED this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I had to alter a bit as we are a diabetic household. I used 2 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour, 1 cup of plain yogurt instead of sour cream, 1 1/2 cups of Splenda white & 1 cup of Splenda brown for my sugar. I used (4 ) 1/4 cups of egg beaters & (2) 3 TBS egg whites. I ground enough pecans for 1/4 cup and mixed 1 TBS Splenda brown sugar with a hint of cinnamon and set aside. Per one hint I sprayed my tube pan with olive oil & dusted with Splenda white sugar. I mixed all per the recipe and poured 1/2 the batter into tube pan. I sprinkled layer of pecan/sugar/cinnamon mix over batter. Pour remaining batter over this mix. Bake for 70 minutes at 325. I did not add a glaze. It was awesome!!! will definitely make again. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Churubusco, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
The cake baked out ok but it is very bland. It has a good texture, but I have baked much better flavored pound cakes. This cake would be better if served as strawberry shortcake or in an English trifle. I did cut down on the sugar to two cups. I believe it would have been way too sweet with 3 cups and that would not have made it any less bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Turned out incredibly well despite the fact that I ran out of eggs so just added the equivalent in sour cream (I only had 5 eggs, which I didn't realize until it came time to put them in). I also baked this at 350, not 300--no way it'd have worked in my oven on that temp. It still took a good 115 minutes to bake. Hubs stated he thought it could be sweeter, but I completely disagree and thought it was too sweet. However, he didn't think it needed the glaze. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Delicious and pretty. batter wast thick. I cut sugar by 1/2 cup. I also added 1 teas of almond flavoring. I will make this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This is a delicious, dense cake. (I used cake flour, and it was still very dense.) The citrus icing was good, but the cake-to-icing ratio lacked icing. This cake screams for berries, cream, or a whole lot more icing. I used walnuts in lieu of pecans (since that's what I had on hand). This dense cake would hold up well on the grill, or in a triffle. It's a good clean / basic pound cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States