Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This recipe is fabulous! I baked it in a cast iron skillet, topped mine with a caramel buttermilk glaze. It was PERFECTION!!!! Thank you for submitting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Excellent cake!! If you want to talk about slapping your mom over any food, get ready to slap your mom for THIS cake!! I added 1 1/2 tsps of almond extract, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I though this recipe was great and was easy to modify. I layered the cake with ribbons of almond cocoa spread and used crushed almonds instead of pecans. The cake was moist and a wonderful consistency it turned out great with cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I just finished baking it. And it has a milky flavor which is good but it is too sweet. Probably it would be better if sugar was half the quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Wow - what an amazing pound cake this recipe made. So delicious and buttery and melt in your mouthy! It had this wonderful little crispy crust on the outside too. Only thing I did different was to make the glaze with lemon juice and not orange juice. Otherwise I followed it to a T and it came out INCREDIBLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I added a caramel glazed to it. My family LOVED this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I had to alter a bit as we are a diabetic household. I used 2 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour, 1 cup of plain yogurt instead of sour cream, 1 1/2 cups of Splenda white & 1 cup of Splenda brown for my sugar. I used (4 ) 1/4 cups of egg beaters & (2) 3 TBS egg whites. I ground enough pecans for 1/4 cup and mixed 1 TBS Splenda brown sugar with a hint of cinnamon and set aside. Per one hint I sprayed my tube pan with olive oil & dusted with Splenda white sugar. I mixed all per the recipe and poured 1/2 the batter into tube pan. I sprinkled layer of pecan/sugar/cinnamon mix over batter. Pour remaining batter over this mix. Bake for 70 minutes at 325. I did not add a glaze. It was awesome!!! will definitely make again. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Churubusco, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
The cake baked out ok but it is very bland. It has a good texture, but I have baked much better flavored pound cakes. This cake would be better if served as strawberry shortcake or in an English trifle. I did cut down on the sugar to two cups. I believe it would have been way too sweet with 3 cups and that would not have made it any less bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Turned out incredibly well despite the fact that I ran out of eggs so just added the equivalent in sour cream (I only had 5 eggs, which I didn't realize until it came time to put them in). I also baked this at 350, not 300--no way it'd have worked in my oven on that temp. It still took a good 115 minutes to bake. Hubs stated he thought it could be sweeter, but I completely disagree and thought it was too sweet. However, he didn't think it needed the glaze. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Delicious and pretty. batter wast thick. I cut sugar by 1/2 cup. I also added 1 teas of almond flavoring. I will make this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States