Pecan Sandies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made these cookies tonight. They are yummy - light, delicate and crispy. I made mine with all butter and added an extra teaspoon of vanilla. The dough is very soft, so I chilled it at least 30 mins. I think they will make it into the Christmas boxes this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Knight Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
MELT IN YOUR MOUTH GOOD! Made these today and my hubby can't stop eating them, yes they taste just like the keebler kind! It made soo many cookies, although i would not recommend cutting the recipe in half because they will go quick! [also added 2 tsp of vanilla for extra flavor] maybe these will be left for santa this year ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracielasmommie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Very good and taste A LOT like the store bought kind. I give the pecans a whirl in the food processor so they're nice and small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie N Matt Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
this was excellent. i followed everything but followed another review and used 2 teaspoons vanilla extract and 1.5 teaspoons salt it made ALOT of cookies and my boyfriend already wants me to make more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I must have done something wrong but I can't figure out what! It tasted like it needed much more sugar and the dough was very wet making it nearly impossible to roll in the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Delicious!! No more store bought Pecan Sandies for me! Did as others suggested and used butter instead of margarine. Used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar and waited till the cookies came out of the oven to sprinkle with sugar. Will definitely be making this cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie C
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lexi
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This recipe is amazing. They have the right kinda texture. I made only a half batch because of everyone else's reviews and I have to say it is worth a full batch. I made only a couple of changes. I used unsalted butter instead of margarine, doubled the amount of vanilla and added about 3/4 tsp of cinnamon. I cooked mine for 12 minutes, turning the cookie sheet halfway through the baking so they got an evenly browned on the edges. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I actually forgot the powdered sugar and they still turned out excellent!! It was a soft dough (since I had forgotten the extra cup of sugar, otherwise it would have been more stiff) but I liked it that way. Very easy to scoop and press with my hands. They baked nice and crispy. I used butter instead of margarine, 2 tsp of vanilla instead of 1, 1/2 cup of white and 1/2 cup of brown sugar and about 1 and 1/4 tsp of salt. I also added my own homemade chocolate covered toffee that I crushed into bits. I loved the sweet/salty flavor combination it had with the extra salt. My father only likes to eat oatmeal cookies, no matter how many types of cookies I've tried to bake for him, none compare to his precious oatmeal. So when he said he liked these even better than his usual oatmeal cookies, that confirmed that this batch was a real winner. I will make them again with my modifications. I may even make them again without the cup of powdered sugar, but I will also try it with the powdered sugar just to see what happens! This is a perfect dough to add other ingredients to, you can get creative like I did with the toffee bits. Toffee and pecans...yum! But you could add chocolate chips or other nuts. I really liked this recipe--it's a keeper. I'm sure it would have been more "sandie" if I hadn't forgotten the powdered sugar. But as it was it was still a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Pecan Sandies are my husband's favorite cookie. He rates these as 6 stars. They melt in your mouth and are not too sweet. I followed the recipe except I used butter instead of margarine. When I'm in the mood to make cookies, these will be the first ones made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Pretty good, almost like the Keebler Pecan Sandies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia the Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States