Pecan Sandies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Very good and taste A LOT like the store bought kind. I give the pecans a whirl in the food processor so they're nice and small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxson13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
this was excellent. i followed everything but followed another review and used 2 teaspoons vanilla extract and 1.5 teaspoons salt it made ALOT of cookies and my boyfriend already wants me to make more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I must have done something wrong but I can't figure out what! It tasted like it needed much more sugar and the dough was very wet making it nearly impossible to roll in the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Delicious!! No more store bought Pecan Sandies for me! Did as others suggested and used butter instead of margarine. Used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar and waited till the cookies came out of the oven to sprinkle with sugar. Will definitely be making this cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie C
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lexi
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This recipe is amazing. They have the right kinda texture. I made only a half batch because of everyone else's reviews and I have to say it is worth a full batch. I made only a couple of changes. I used unsalted butter instead of margarine, doubled the amount of vanilla and added about 3/4 tsp of cinnamon. I cooked mine for 12 minutes, turning the cookie sheet halfway through the baking so they got an evenly browned on the edges. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I actually forgot the powdered sugar and they still turned out excellent!! It was a soft dough (since I had forgotten the extra cup of sugar, otherwise it would have been more stiff) but I liked it that way. Very easy to scoop and press with my hands. They baked nice and crispy. I used butter instead of margarine, 2 tsp of vanilla instead of 1, 1/2 cup of white and 1/2 cup of brown sugar and about 1 and 1/4 tsp of salt. I also added my own homemade chocolate covered toffee that I crushed into bits. I loved the sweet/salty flavor combination it had with the extra salt. My father only likes to eat oatmeal cookies, no matter how many types of cookies I've tried to bake for him, none compare to his precious oatmeal. So when he said he liked these even better than his usual oatmeal cookies, that confirmed that this batch was a real winner. I will make them again with my modifications. I may even make them again without the cup of powdered sugar, but I will also try it with the powdered sugar just to see what happens! This is a perfect dough to add other ingredients to, you can get creative like I did with the toffee bits. Toffee and pecans...yum! But you could add chocolate chips or other nuts. I really liked this recipe--it's a keeper. I'm sure it would have been more "sandie" if I hadn't forgotten the powdered sugar. But as it was it was still a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Pecan Sandies are my husband's favorite cookie. He rates these as 6 stars. They melt in your mouth and are not too sweet. I followed the recipe except I used butter instead of margarine. When I'm in the mood to make cookies, these will be the first ones made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Pretty good, almost like the Keebler Pecan Sandies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia the Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
after reading a few reviews this is what I did. I too used butter, changed sugers to half brown, half white. Also I had some ground pecans and used those, I had approx half a cup left and went ahead and added them to the recipe. I used 2 tsp of real vanilla. My batter was soft, I dropped it by large tsp fulls and used a tart press to "pat" down the cookies. they came off the sheet easily. I have only tried them warm, but they cured my craving for pecan sandies. I will make these again. recipe made 75 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
These are so good nice and light they taste like more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States