Pecan Sandies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Excellent tasting and reasonably easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farnborough, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Generally I like this type of cookie, with a dough that includes confectioners' sugar, oil, butter and cream of tartar. I know the cookies for their characteristic lightness and sandy texture. Not so much this time. The mixed dough was very soft and laden with oil, already a big tip-off of what was to come. I chilled the dough and while it did firm up, the resulting cookies were overly greasy, somewhat crumbly and not even substantive enough. While one could play with the amounts of margarine (I used butter) and oil, the solution, I'm sure, would be to add a little more flour, simple as that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
These cookies are great, though not traditional pecan sandies. The baking time is definitely more like 9 mnutes. They tend to burn on bottom quickly if you don't keep an eye on them. I used parchment paper, and they didn't stick. I think next time I'll try baking them on the top rack of the oven to help with the burning. Also instead of rolling the cookie dough ball in sugar, I would dip them and not cover the bottom with sugar because sugar tends to burn. These cookies DO expand, so make sure not to make them too big and place them 2 inches apart. They bake so quickly, you can make multiple batches in no time! I didn't have enough oil, so I substituted 1/2 of the oil with apple sauce. It turned out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Good, easy recipe to make. Used real butter, extra vanilla, and white and brown sugar. Oh, and walnuts because I ran out of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taronya Peek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FernieEirk
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Delicious!!!! :D used 2 teaspoons of vanilla instead of 1, just as everybody else suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FernieEirk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Loved these Cookies! We had to use margarine because my husband and son have dairy allergies, but they were still good. I can only imagine how good they would be with real butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Just made these and love them. I changed the recipe slightly. I doubled the pecans and added another 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda. I scooped these with a 2 oz scoop and slightly flattened with a fork and sprinkled with colored sugar. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Urato

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Fabulous cookies! We have 2 pecan trees and this year's yield has been prolific so I went looking for a cookie recipe. I just keep making and sharing, so delicious! I did not change anything from recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
So light, they just melt. I did not roll them out, but spooned them onto a cookie sheet lined with paper. Some I sprinkled with sugar, but not necessary. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
LOVED this recipe! A great addition to my Christmas trays this year. The recipe yields alot and makes a nice presentation. It doesn't hurt that they are wonderfully tasty, too! Thanks for sharing this great recipe, m-ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States