Pecan Sandies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Very good, I added 2 teaspoon of cinnamon sugar, used light brown sugar instead of white, and doubled the vanilla extract.Used 1 teaspoon of baking powder instead of baking soda and cream of tarter. I used salted butter so I did not add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Someone brought me some store bought Pecan Sandies but they tasted weird to me. I decided to look up a recipe and found this one. These were so good nobody even wants to think of the prepackaged kind anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
i also altered this recipe with rave results. Instead of 1 cup of white sugar I did 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup packed brown sugar and I doubled the vanilla. This are awesome cookies. They do taste just like the keebler cookies. does that make me a little elf?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Oh, my oh my! This makes such good cookies. I will never again buy the cookies in a sack again. Delicious! Make a lot, is easy enough and just a great cookie. I used 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon, 2 tsp vanilla and it was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Epuddle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin' for cash
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Oh boy, these are GOOD! I made 1/2 recipe because I only had 1 cup of pecans. I used half brown sugar, half regular sugar, kept the powdered sugar the same. I used canola oil and used a little less (about 2/3 of the half cup called for in the half recipe.) I used unsalted butter, I never use margarine. I used my small cookie scoop, and didn't bother to roll them in sugar, but flattened them slighty with my fingers before baking. They spread out perfectly, and didn't stick to the cookie sheets. This recipe is a keeper, will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Excellent tasting and reasonably easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farnborough, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Generally I like this type of cookie, with a dough that includes confectioners' sugar, oil, butter and cream of tartar. I know the cookies for their characteristic lightness and sandy texture. Not so much this time. The mixed dough was very soft and laden with oil, already a big tip-off of what was to come. I chilled the dough and while it did firm up, the resulting cookies were overly greasy, somewhat crumbly and not even substantive enough. While one could play with the amounts of margarine (I used butter) and oil, the solution, I'm sure, would be to add a little more flour, simple as that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
These cookies are great, though not traditional pecan sandies. The baking time is definitely more like 9 mnutes. They tend to burn on bottom quickly if you don't keep an eye on them. I used parchment paper, and they didn't stick. I think next time I'll try baking them on the top rack of the oven to help with the burning. Also instead of rolling the cookie dough ball in sugar, I would dip them and not cover the bottom with sugar because sugar tends to burn. These cookies DO expand, so make sure not to make them too big and place them 2 inches apart. They bake so quickly, you can make multiple batches in no time! I didn't have enough oil, so I substituted 1/2 of the oil with apple sauce. It turned out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Good, easy recipe to make. Used real butter, extra vanilla, and white and brown sugar. Oh, and walnuts because I ran out of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taronya Peek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FernieEirk
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Delicious!!!! :D used 2 teaspoons of vanilla instead of 1, just as everybody else suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FernieEirk

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States