Pecan Sandies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
The taste was just okay, not much flavor and my sandies cam out more like cake. I followed the directions. they were crunchy on the bottom, and cake like on the top. I felt like these was more like wedding cookies than sandies. I didn't tweak the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
My huband girls love these at the store I found this recipe and the only thing I did different is roll the cookie dough in raw sugar (Sugar IN the Raw). They were thrilled with ccokie both ways (regular sugar and raw sugar). They said this recipe was a keeper! It does make many cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made during Christmas and took them to work. Now I get request for them all of the time. I'm making a batch today as a requested birthday gift for a friend, they're that good! I do substitute the margarine for unsalted butter but that's my only change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gixxer3248

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I stuck to the recipe except for using butter instead of margarine and adding 1/2tsp almond extract. They were so good. i took some to the bar with me (it was dart night) and the bartender said they were the best cookies she'd ever had, and begged me to make her a batch to take to her parents' house for Christmas. Another person there has already given me the stuff to make her husband a batch for his birthday. My first homemade cookies and these were the responses! Thank you so much for posting this! Oh yeah, DO use parchment paper. I was able to bake all three batches on one piece. So awesome. Also, i discovered, by accident, that putting a biscuit in plastic container with the cookies makes them soft. I had baked some buttermilk biscuits and had a couple left over. I had room in with the cookies, which were several days old by then. Next evening, the cookies were soft. I magine a piece of sandwich bread would work as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexander Reyne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I am giving this recipe only 4 stars because it calls for margarine which make for a cookie that is too bready. The second time I made them I substituted butter for the margarine and got a wonderful cookie! They were crisp and buttery and that is the only way to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I just finished making them and they turned out amazing! I added freshly grated cinnamon sticks with the sugar you roll them in and then a little more before I baked them. They taste so good. Definitely going to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by peppysfireball
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Loved it. I made 1/2 batch and got 54 cookies. Mine didn't look as bumpy as the ones pictured above. Mine look like the ones from the store. They melt in your mouth and are light, not dense like the store bought ones. THey slid right off my airbake sheets. I doubled the vanilla like suggested and don't use cream of tartar. A lot of people run into problems when they don't refrigerator a recipe with butter or margarine, and when they substitute vegetable oil spreads like Parkay or Blue bonnet for margarine or butter. You can't. Margarine is around 80% fat and spreads are only 30-40% fat. THey are mostly water. I watched a tv cooking show on it. Good Eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Very good. I had to sub applesauce for veg oil but still came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
These are great, my husband said they are better the ones we buy at the store. They really melt in your mouth. I plan on sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
These are wonderful. I did have to play with the oven temp and time to work with my oven but otherwise this recipe is spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States