Pecan Salmon Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I found this recipe to be okay - nothing too exciting. I used a high-end can salmon in the hopes that the taste would be great, but like someone else commented "it tasted like tuna fish. I won't waste $8.00 on salmon to make this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This was good but seemed to me a pretty basic salmon spread. Next time I will add more spice (cayanne and horseradish) to it and more salt. It was pretty bland even with salty crackers and we finally started sprinkling salt on each topped cracker as we ate it (made it taste much better). On the other hand, the finished product looks fabulous! My family figured it was 'store bought' because it looked so pretty. This is a keeper even at only 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I used a can of red salmon & added a little liquid smoke. I tried to shape it into a log but the texture was more like a spread than a solid roll/log. The bottom line though is I took the spread to a party & it was a definite success. Although there were a lot of appetizers at the party, I heard the host tell a guest to try this one as it was really good. Next time, instead of trying to shape it into a log, I'm just going to arrange the spread on a platter & add the parsley & pecans on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
Wonderful! Everyone loved it! I sprayed "Pam" on my hands to ease the formation of the log. No problems. We also used smoked salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tatdragn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
LOVED THIS!!!! It was a hit!! My friend had a birthday the other day and I brought this over and everyone enjoyed it. Wonderful and tasted so yummy! This will go in rotation for appy's again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Loved this, simple to make but great taste! This went fast once it was put out for my guests, and someone even asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This appetizer was a hit during our Canadian Thanksgiving dinner and a definiete keeper for those who love salmon dip. To keep this recipe easy I shaped the mixture into a half moon log on platter without rolling it or using saran wrap as suggested by other raters/review. I also did not use a hot horseradish for my first attempt at this recipe. I then decorated the exposed parts of the log with the parsley and pecans. My daughter then decorated the rest of the platter with a variety of crackers, carrets and grape tomatoes. This colourful display impress a friend of mine (who is an excellent cook) and an aunt from England so much that they told me that they had to have the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
it was okay. great alternative to the traditional cheeseballs at christmastime, but would not make otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
So good! I used low fat cream cheese and it was great. I have put this in my recipe box and will keep it and use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This was really good, I even had a friend ask for the recipe! I will definately make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Quick Cured Salmon

See how to make a quick, simple brine for luxurious cured salmon.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States