Pecan Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
I think brown rice needs to be cooked with 2-1/2 cups water per 1 cup rice, so I adjusted it accordingly. I toasted the pecans after chopping them. This was excellent--the pecans adds a great crunch! I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
This is excellent!! The flavor is not to heavy,and it went perfect with the salmon I grilled. I won't buy that pre-package stuff anymore!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
This was great, my husband loved it and it is very filling. I did make a few alterations to the original recipe: I used 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth and water combined in place of the 2 cups of water. I also heated the pecans in the oven a few minutes to give them a more nutty flavor. It needed more salt added before serving to bring out all the flavors. Remember, brown rice has a short shelf life and should be kept in the freezer. If this recipe doesn't turn out, your rice or your spices may be old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Really good and easy recipe. I didn't have pecans, so I substituted walnuts...still turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaWannabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Delicious. I used "Success Brown Rice", which is a lot easier than regular brown rice. I also didn't have pecans, so I used walnuts instead. But like I said, "Delicious"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Made this side dish for a big family gathering and it was a big hit. Used 1/2 chicken broth and 1/2 water as other reviews suggested. Two guests asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This dish went really well with the meatloaf I fixed with it...the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I loved this recipe, it really was a nice depature from most brown rice recipes. The only changes I made, for what was on hand was I used butter instead of margerine, and inste4ad of pecans I used finely chopped unsalted cashews. Wow, was THIS good! I will experiment with more nuts, maybe walnuts next time or even both. Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCA70111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Excellent! Did not use the ginger (I couldn't find it!) and it was fine without it. The nuts definitely add something. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I loved this recipe! I used butter instead of margarine and 2/3 cups rice and 1 1/3 cups water to the same amount of spices, onions and pecans. It had a rich nutty flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hinman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States