Pecan Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
This was great, my husband loved it and it is very filling. I did make a few alterations to the original recipe: I used 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth and water combined in place of the 2 cups of water. I also heated the pecans in the oven a few minutes to give them a more nutty flavor. It needed more salt added before serving to bring out all the flavors. Remember, brown rice has a short shelf life and should be kept in the freezer. If this recipe doesn't turn out, your rice or your spices may be old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
I think brown rice needs to be cooked with 2-1/2 cups water per 1 cup rice, so I adjusted it accordingly. I toasted the pecans after chopping them. This was excellent--the pecans adds a great crunch! I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
By far, this is the best brown rice recipe I've found up until now. I did use seasoned chicken broth instead of water and that probably made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is a great recipe! The only changes I made were 1. I added a little more onion and a tiny bit more of all of the seasonings to compensate, and 2. At the end I added a few drizzles of olive oil to moisten up the dish. The flavor is wonderful and the pecans go so well with the brown rice - this dish is a keeper! It's also a great dish for company and I imagine it would go really well with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Follow the cooking directions for whatever brown rice you purchased... some take more time to cook, some more fluid to cook. Use chicken broth instead of water to add more flavor to rice. Outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Striffler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Really good and easy recipe. I didn't have pecans, so I substituted walnuts...still turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaWannabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
This is excellent!! The flavor is not to heavy,and it went perfect with the salmon I grilled. I won't buy that pre-package stuff anymore!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
This is a quick and easy way to dress up brown rice. I made it for company and it turned out great! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Thank you for this recipe for brown rice. I now can enjoy eating brown rice. We tried this as a side dish for grilled chicken and every bite was gone. We will be making this a lot. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Hands down this is the best rice recipes I've ever had. My husband was hoping for more but it was gone. I made it just how it says but with real butter not plastic-y margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aspen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States