Pecan Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
This is a quick and easy way to dress up brown rice. I made it for company and it turned out great! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
Very tasty. I didn't have fresh onion on hand so substituted minced onion and I had left over brown rice from a previous meal, so I guessed about how much cooked rice to use. I added rice directly to skillet and sauteed to warm through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
I think brown rice needs to be cooked with 2-1/2 cups water per 1 cup rice, so I adjusted it accordingly. I toasted the pecans after chopping them. This was excellent--the pecans adds a great crunch! I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
This is excellent!! The flavor is not to heavy,and it went perfect with the salmon I grilled. I won't buy that pre-package stuff anymore!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
We found this to be extremely bland; I can't understand all the great reviews? At least I followed the advice of a previous reviewer, and used 2 1/2 cups of water per 1 cup of rice, which came out to the correct consistency. But the flavor was just completely lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Very good. Ginger adds very nice, light flavor, and pecans bring a novel texture to rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
This was great, my husband loved it and it is very filling. I did make a few alterations to the original recipe: I used 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth and water combined in place of the 2 cups of water. I also heated the pecans in the oven a few minutes to give them a more nutty flavor. It needed more salt added before serving to bring out all the flavors. Remember, brown rice has a short shelf life and should be kept in the freezer. If this recipe doesn't turn out, your rice or your spices may be old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Really good and easy recipe. I didn't have pecans, so I substituted walnuts...still turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaWannabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Delicious. I used "Success Brown Rice", which is a lot easier than regular brown rice. I also didn't have pecans, so I used walnuts instead. But like I said, "Delicious"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Made this side dish for a big family gathering and it was a big hit. Used 1/2 chicken broth and 1/2 water as other reviews suggested. Two guests asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States