Pecan Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
great twist on a rice dish! It toltally jazzes rice up and it is fancy looking! I served it with rotissery chicken, made the plate so elegant looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I liked the pecans in this, but felt this dish needed just a little more flavor. As others mentioned, cooking the rice in chicken stock would definitely have helped, but I used frozen steamed brown rice to start with. Next time I'll definitely add some garlic and use some chicken stock to give it more flavor. Another suggestion I liked from another reviewer was to drizzle a little olive oil on it. Still, I think this is a keeper - just needs a little flavor boost! Thanks Deborah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Good idea, but a little salty for me and there were almost too many pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I was looking for a side to go with a pecan-crusted chicken. I was worried that this may be too many pecans in a meal, but it was perfect! I followed another reviewer's suggestion and used chicken boullion instead of just water; also cooked the rice in the rice cooker. I also used more onions than the recipe called for, and fresh ginger instead of dry. It was a hit with my family - even my picky 4 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Just made this tonight-followed suggestions of other reviewers and used chicken broth and water,toasted the pecans and added last. We both loved it-thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I added a sprinkle of a cinnamon & sugar blend across the top after mixing it together. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deshotels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This was really really good. The combination of the onion, rice, pecans and herbs were wonderful! I didn't add salt and I was tempted to add craisins, but I didn't...Although I put a splash of orange juice in, because mine needed some moisture. (I cheated and used leftover brown rice from a couple of days ago, so my rice was dry when I started!) I'm sure if I would've started with fresh rice, I wouldn't have had to add the OJ. A very nice side dish for our Turkey medallions. This one is in my recipe box for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishMtCIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I made this to go with grilled salmon and it was delicious. I will try it with a different herb than basil next time, or maybe with fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
REALLY tasty! I would definitely make this again. Made it for company with grilled salmon and veggies and it was a great compliment to the rest of the food. I did bake the pecans as suggested and also used chickn broth, which added a lot to the taste. Also I had scallions on hand that needed to be used up and tried those instead of onions. I think this was a milder taste which was good. I also used fresh herbs from my garden and the fresh taste was so good. I will make this recipe over and over. One last thing... I cooked the rice earlier, before my guests arrived, then added it to the rest of the ingredients and reheated the rice. Turned out great and worked out better with my schedule. Yummy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I liked this recipe for dressing up the rice. Next time I would use less pecans, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leaca Moerland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States