Pecan Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This was quite good. I was afraid of using the ginger but went by the book for my first try and was surprised at the interesting flavor. Next time I'll chop some celery to add along with some wild rice. Four stars because the brown rice needs more water than amount given, but definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I used 2 1/2 c. chicken broth as it's usually double and a half of the liquid you'd usually use with long grain white rice. I added fresh garlic and sauteed it in the butter with the onion before I added the chicken broth and omitted the parsley and basil because I really wanted the rice to compliment the Cajun Meatballs I made for dinner. This rice took 45 minutes to cook for me but I'd determined a long time ago that i'm not a great cook of brown rice. This was a good side that I'll make again and again. The pecans went fabulously with the brown rice, like they were made for each other. My older boy and husband disagreed. Too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Very good, I was really getting sick of rice a roni when I wanted a different rice dish. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This recipe is so great--very easy to modify and adjust to what you have on hand. I go to the store and buy a few different veggies and herbs. I have not yet made it with the pecans, but looking forward to it. I had bought some dried habanero peppers and added a pinch of that to the final dish. Simply great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I used jasmine rice and added a squeeze of lime at the end. I like it but it had to be salted quite a bit. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daleville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
too much parsley for my likeing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
great twist on a rice dish! It toltally jazzes rice up and it is fancy looking! I served it with rotissery chicken, made the plate so elegant looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I liked the pecans in this, but felt this dish needed just a little more flavor. As others mentioned, cooking the rice in chicken stock would definitely have helped, but I used frozen steamed brown rice to start with. Next time I'll definitely add some garlic and use some chicken stock to give it more flavor. Another suggestion I liked from another reviewer was to drizzle a little olive oil on it. Still, I think this is a keeper - just needs a little flavor boost! Thanks Deborah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Good idea, but a little salty for me and there were almost too many pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I was looking for a side to go with a pecan-crusted chicken. I was worried that this may be too many pecans in a meal, but it was perfect! I followed another reviewer's suggestion and used chicken boullion instead of just water; also cooked the rice in the rice cooker. I also used more onions than the recipe called for, and fresh ginger instead of dry. It was a hit with my family - even my picky 4 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States