Pecan Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This is a great recipe--lots of flavor and suits as a side dish for all sorts of meat, I didn't change a thing. Can be made ahead and just reheated in the micro. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Fantastic! Trying to switch my family to brown rice and this recipe is helping the transition. I only used 1T. butter, and my dish turned out great. I, too, left out the ginger and was happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
By far, this is the best brown rice recipe I've found up until now. I did use seasoned chicken broth instead of water and that probably made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I loved this recipe! I used butter instead of margarine and 2/3 cups rice and 1 1/3 cups water to the same amount of spices, onions and pecans. It had a rich nutty flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hinman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Excellent! Did not use the ginger (I couldn't find it!) and it was fine without it. The nuts definitely add something. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
this recipe is horrible. Bland and a waste of pricey pecans and rice. I do not understand all the kudos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I made this for 2 families. Used chicken broth for the water, fresh basil instead of dried, and 1/2 butter 1/2 olive oil for the margerine. Was a hit by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I was out of pecans so I subbed cashews, also found out I was out of ginger so I used chinese five spice. I thought it was a bit bland. I'll try again with the chicken broth & use more amount of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Everyone in my family LOVED this recipe, even the pickiest eater! I did follow the advice to simmer the rice in chicken broth,and I added just a little extra onions and pecans. One thing we tried just for fun was a sprinkle of shredded parmesan cheese for each serving-- it was awesome!! We will look forward to making this again and again-- THANKS for submitting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Thank you for this recipe for brown rice. I now can enjoy eating brown rice. We tried this as a side dish for grilled chicken and every bite was gone. We will be making this a lot. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States