Pecan Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Our family of picky adult eaters enjoyed this recipe. I did use canned chicken broth instead of water, but 2 1/2 cups was a bit too much and made the rice a bit mushy. I was worried about the ginger, but it was perfect with just a hint of ginger flavor. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This is by FAR the best rice I've ever eaten! It disappeared so fast and was so easy to make. I will definitely make this one often!!! I used a few fresh basil leaves instead of dried, which was great, but not necessary. This is a great way to use up leftover rice. Just put the leftover rice in a pan with just a touch of water. Cover and let steam to warm up. Then add the pecan mixture and serve. I'm pretty sure you could make this sauce ahead of time, freeze, and then add to rice later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I make this rice roughly once a week, that's how much we love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I loved, loved, loved the extra flavor in this recipe. I used brown rice and cooked as directed, although as others suggested I cooked in chicken broth. I prepared the rice and chopped up all my ingredients in advance. At dinner time all I had to do was mix everything together. Super easy and by far one of the tastiest side dishes I've tried from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Excellent! The only thing I changed was to toast the pecan pieces first, to bring out the nutty flavor. This is a great side dish that I will definitely make again. Impressive enough for company, easy enough to make on a weeknight. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecefltrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
The flavor as written was good but a little bland to me. After adding the pan juices from the Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken recipe on this site to the rice, it was incredible! I loved the nuttiness of the toasted pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
It was a huge hit. Anything with pecans is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Great! I took others advice and toasted the nuts. I used less rice, so I didn't have to change amount of spice. used about 3/4 of rice. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
VERY Delicious. And a great flavor. I served it with Maple Salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
this was great!! i used half of the butter though and it came out super good! not too greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa Kiehnle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States