Pecan Pumpkin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Thanks to your comments, I did for the first time a pumpkin pie. Very good, not too spicy and these are my variations: I didn't put the white sugar and it was sweet enough. I used walnuts because here in Belgium pecans are not common. I used tangerine instead of orange and it was very delicate. I did two pies and I could not wait to let them cool before tasting them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Awesome pie, like another review I read though it's way too much batter. I would also like more pecan for the top layer....easily adjusted though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This tasted delicious but it didn't look very nice. The pecan layer made it hard to cut through the pie. Might make again but chop the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was fantastic! I could not stay away from it. The addition of the orange zest is not to be omitted. It was a delightful addition. I loved the flavor of the pumpkin mixture as well. I will say that I needed a bigger pie pan for this than the 9" store bought crust I went with. This pie deserves a deep dish, homemade crust. It is a great treat for the holidays. We will definitely make this again...even if it is just for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I love good food, and this was good! Depending on what crust you use, I was actually able to make (2) pies with these ingredients, but I doubled the pecan topping ingred. to accomodate both pies. Use pecan pieces rather than whole. yum, yum, yum! Will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
this is out of sight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SEC2013
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
The orange zest was a great idea-really added uniqueness with the pie. I cut the pecans in halves instead of wholes. Use a buttery crust with recipe! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEC2013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
The pie cooked nice and evenly. It's a good recipe but next time I think I'll carmelize the pecans so the top is sweeter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This pie was too sweet for me and the flavor reminded me of a fruitcake rather than the buttery pecan taste I was hoping for. I had a problem with the pecan "struesel" as well, mine turned out more like a paste. I love the idea of the two pies combined together though, I'll keep searching for the one that fits my tastes more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendi Leitzell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Not so great for me at all! I'm a pretty good baker but to me it tasted as if there was too much spice and the main problem I had was the pecan topping. The butter and sugar formed a kind of toffee around the nuts which doesn't taste bad but was not at all what I wanted. It also affected the appearance of the pie. I'm on a search to try another recipe before Thanksgiving that probably contains corn syrup for the pecan topping. Overall it was decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States