Pecan Pumpkin Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This was GREAT! I made this for Thanksgiving but doubled the recipe for two pies. First day, I made with pecan mixture, but found it was too sweet for my taste. Second day, I made it without the pecans and it was the best! Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Scotia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Always gets lots of compliments. I rough chop the pecans, and make extra topping to be sure the pie is evenly covered. Agree the orange zest makes the extreme sweetness of this more palatable. Next time, I might cut down on the sugar for the pumpkin filing, and would love to try the topping to be more like regular pecan pie and sub some of the brown sugar with corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahC
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Super easy! Even for the beginner like me. I doubled the spices like suggested and omitted the orange zest to please all. TIP: I used two shallow pie tins ( 8 inch) and this filling makes enough for two pies. I doubled the topping and covered each pie with the pecan mixture giving it a nice thick top crust so to speak. This way no extra filling like others mentioned in their reviews. I also used home made pie crust so I was able to make the lip of the pie high for holding the extra pecan topping. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Love it!! I did use only brown sugar and since my pie plate is 91/2inch i use and extra 1/4 of pecans. I also did chop about 1/2 of them which was great because you could still cut through it but you could see some whole pieces as well.. BUT MAKE IT AND PUT IT IN THE FRIDGE FOR OVERNIGHT SO IT IS COMPLETELY SET AND SOLID ..ALSO I TOPPED WITH WHIP CREAM AND ADDED SOME SUGAR AND ORANGE SEXT TO THE WHIPPED CREAM..IT WAS AWESOME PERFECT BLEND OF PUMPKIN AND PECAN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This was a little too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Won my work's pumkin pie contest with this one! The Orange Zest is definitley something that sets this one apart! Also I used fresh nutmeg, ginger, and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
DO NOT SKIP THE ORANGE ZEST!! it gives this pie a nice added flavor... the best pumpkin pie recipe.. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie0129

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Mike loved this. I used a premade crust...it was still pretty amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joborne
Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
excellent every time just as written, always a hit with guests Double the spices, add a little ground cloves and a pinch of chili pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Chopped the pecans but did everything else the same. Yum! Very very sweet though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States