Pecan Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Great recipe! Please try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mariakins
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I put these on top of a dark/white chocolate cheesecake! They are PERFECT addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariakins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Used the recipe and it made them as advertised. Slight change, used a splash of Mexican vanilla and dropped on parchment paper. I'm not a chef, just a guy with a little time on my hands and a neighbor with pecan trees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe is great. I dont understand why people have to come on here and say theirs is better or you should change things. If you have a recipe that is better then use yours and dont come on here and criticize someone elses helpful hints. no one cares where your from or where the recipe originated from. Just be thankful that you can come to this great site and find a recipe to make some outstanding food.. Thanks for all you great tasting recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but I will! Looks good & sounds easy. The picture is wrong! Under the photo is a link that says "1 of 3 photos"...click there and you'll see the actual picture of the pralines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Well, I guess I should have read the other review before trying this! I may have not waited long enough, but seize up on me it did! Oh well, sugar + nuts = good :) no matter what shape it is in :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The recipe worked for us because it didn't include any milk products (we used milk-free margarine). The recipe should include instructions to "cook to a temperature of 239 degrees, then turn off heat and stir in pecans", just for clarity to other readers. From there, you can let it thicken until ready to spoon out onto prepared sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Broom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Great pecans. Suggestion possibly for those that had it seize up on them... I simply poured the pan onto a baking sheet and proceeded to constantly stir them/chop them with a rubber spatula. This allowed them to stay apart and also reduce the amount of sugar built up on them. It made them more crystallized, rather than turning into bricks. I wanted them for a salad, not a brick to eat for a snack. I actually put them into a colander with small enough holes to shake off excess sugar and just tossed them around in there till I had just the pecans remaining without all the powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Less water, needs to be heated to certain heat that is not listed here. Added more pecans too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
Gathering the ingredients and making the pralines were pretty easy but the recipe needs more clearer instructions. I had a hard time with melting the sugar at medium heat because it wouldn't melt and took the longest time to liquify, I would put it in between 7 and 8 (heat on the stove). Also, the instructions weren't too clear of how long to heat the liquid sugars (I would say about 5 minutes without stirring) and dropping them by the spoonfuls, I had half my batch seize up on me and they didn't turn out into pralines cookies...more like pecan praline crumbles. Finger Food anyone? Overall, in the end, the Pralines were a hit (the ones that made it out...the crumbled pralines weren't that big)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States