Pecan Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
Gathering the ingredients and making the pralines were pretty easy but the recipe needs more clearer instructions. I had a hard time with melting the sugar at medium heat because it wouldn't melt and took the longest time to liquify, I would put it in between 7 and 8 (heat on the stove). Also, the instructions weren't too clear of how long to heat the liquid sugars (I would say about 5 minutes without stirring) and dropping them by the spoonfuls, I had half my batch seize up on me and they didn't turn out into pralines cookies...more like pecan praline crumbles. Finger Food anyone? Overall, in the end, the Pralines were a hit (the ones that made it out...the crumbled pralines weren't that big)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Well, I guess I should have read the other review before trying this! I may have not waited long enough, but seize up on me it did! Oh well, sugar + nuts = good :) no matter what shape it is in :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
It was a good recipe and everyone raved about it, but it didn't set like it should have. A temperature to cook to would have been very helpful to me (I'm still a novice at cooking). Overall, still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Great recipe! Please try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
These were okay. The sugar never really liquified so they were "grainy". I may have had my expectations set too high after having pralines from New Orleans... will keep looking. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
When I thought these were done cooking, I dropped the first few onto sheets, and they were too runny. I put the mixture back on the stove for a few seconds and they seized up. Be very careful about how long you let these cook. I also might add a tiny pinch of salt or use salted butter. Overall they tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Very good! However, I did add about 1/4 tsp vanilla extract to the mix to give them a little better flavor. I cooked mine on medium-high heat to speed up the process, and to keep them from running all over the place I waited about ten seconds after taking them off the burner before dropping the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chester, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I followed the original recipe with no modifications to the ingredients, and my attempt was very successful. The only change that I implemented was placing the mounds of mixture on parchment paper instead of "generously buttered" cookie sheets/pans, and they lifted perfectly and the clean-up was a snap. I think that I may add a bit of vanilla next time around and would also suggest waiting about 10 seconds before dropping the praline mixture. Thank you (and your Mom) for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kendra.oh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Recipe needs more guidance (i.e. length of time to boil). I followed this recipe but added 1/4 tsp vanilla extract; however mixture was extremely runny it never "seized" up like others said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I thought these turned out well. I heated the mixture on medium for about 10 minutes and it was still a little runny. Overall very tasty for how simple and easy it was to make them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States