Pecan Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The recipe worked for us because it didn't include any milk products (we used milk-free margarine). The recipe should include instructions to "cook to a temperature of 239 degrees, then turn off heat and stir in pecans", just for clarity to other readers. From there, you can let it thicken until ready to spoon out onto prepared sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Broom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe is great. I dont understand why people have to come on here and say theirs is better or you should change things. If you have a recipe that is better then use yours and dont come on here and criticize someone elses helpful hints. no one cares where your from or where the recipe originated from. Just be thankful that you can come to this great site and find a recipe to make some outstanding food.. Thanks for all you great tasting recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but I will! Looks good & sounds easy. The picture is wrong! Under the photo is a link that says "1 of 3 photos"...click there and you'll see the actual picture of the pralines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Great pecans. Suggestion possibly for those that had it seize up on them... I simply poured the pan onto a baking sheet and proceeded to constantly stir them/chop them with a rubber spatula. This allowed them to stay apart and also reduce the amount of sugar built up on them. It made them more crystallized, rather than turning into bricks. I wanted them for a salad, not a brick to eat for a snack. I actually put them into a colander with small enough holes to shake off excess sugar and just tossed them around in there till I had just the pecans remaining without all the powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Less water, needs to be heated to certain heat that is not listed here. Added more pecans too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Used the recipe and it made them as advertised. Slight change, used a splash of Mexican vanilla and dropped on parchment paper. I'm not a chef, just a guy with a little time on my hands and a neighbor with pecan trees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mariakins
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I put these on top of a dark/white chocolate cheesecake! They are PERFECT addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariakins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Taste- 5 stars; Directions: 3 stars; This was my first try at pecan pralines. I just got a wild hair to try them and, for my first try, they turned out pretty good. The only change I made was using Splenda instead of sugar ( only because I don't keep sugar in my pantry). A note for other first tryers: Don't over cook these or they become "pecan bricks" instead of pecan pralines. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
The recipe as written was a big ol' mess. Half the batch seized up on me and I had to reheat them with extra butter. After that they turned out okay. I will try a different recipe when I want to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
As written, this recipe is a 1 or a 2, not because of taste, but because of presentation. If made as directed, they will crumble to bits. I am from New Orleans, where the pecan praline originated, and we NEVER put our pralines on wax paper. The heat from the hot liquid will melt the wax right onto the surface, making them impossible to remove, without breaking into bits and pieces. In New Orleans we use one of 2 surfaces-either a marble slab (done by most of the shops in the French Quarter that do demonstrations) or parchment paper. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla because we love vanilla. I only cooked them over the stove for 1-2 minutes. One to 2 minutes will yield light creamy tan pralines. Cooking them 5 or minutes will turn the sugar mixture a dark brown, which is still good to taste, just not that visually appealing. Also, these will come out waif thin, which is how they serve them in New Orleans, rather than as a big puffed cookie type. For thicker cookie like ones, just use less liquid. With modifications I think this recipe is a 5. It is the way I have seen them made since I was a little girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrankiAndPaul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States