Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I've made this twice. The first time was perfect for me because the filling was not as thick. Maybe it was the eggs were well beaten. Don't put pecans than the recipe calls for. It will dry it out too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Although I didn't use the pie crust recipe here, due to time restraints (who doesn't run into that for holiday baking???), there is absolutely NOTHING wrong with this recipe. I have used it once before this time, but couldn't quite remember how it was - possibly because I baked it for another event and wasn't able to try a piece myself before it was gone! This is mmm-mmm good, honest pecan pie. No frills, just great pecan pie taste and simple to make. It's a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Amazingly Good! Made me very popular this holiday. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Several of us loved this recipe, but my husband only liked it. I loved the flavor, but maybe I overcooked the sugars because the inside was not the gelled texture we associate with pecan pie. I also used a very dark brown sugar from some island country from my stock of interesting sugars, and I used maple syrup. Next time I may change the sugar-syrup ratio. I also used a very large deep dish pie plate and will have to make more of the filling to better fill the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
very yummy, different than a pecan pie almost like fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This is a great pecan pie recipe - everyone around the table rated it 5 stars. Didn't have dark corn syrup so used light and it turned out great - nice caramelly flavor without being sickly sweet. I used the following sweet pastry recipe for the crust - easy and went really nicely with the filling: In food processor, process 1 cup flour with 1 Tbsp sugar. Add 6 Tbsp cold butter. Turn processor on/off six times. With machine on add 2-2 1/2 Tbsp cold water through feed tube, just until dough forms a ball. Press into bottom and sides of pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
haven't eaten it yet so that remains to be rated but I'm sure it will taste fine..but it looks funny...almost like a Blondie brownie...not traditional pecan pie looking. I used the dark corn syrup too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I really enjoyed this. The filling set up and caramelized nicely. Just be careful to let the filling cool down a bit before adding it to the eggs otherwise you'll get scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I switched it up a bit! My pastry I added semi-sweet mini chocolate chips. The sugar syrup mixture, I added a bit of black strap molasses. It turned out amazing! Boyfriend loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia Ann Bassett Ritch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is wonderful. Didnt change a thing. Reminded me of my grandmothers. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winkhugkiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States