Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Made this for my boyfriend (who grew up in the south). He was in awe and loved it. Will be making it again for a Father's Day picnic this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitelotuskim

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Best ever. Substituted 1/2 cup of the white sugar with brown sugar. Added extrra tsp. vanilla. Used deep dish pie shell. So very good. Def a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoshR
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Let me start off by saying this is the first pie I have ever made. This was recipe was easy. I did however use 2 cups of crushed and chopped pecans instead of the 1 1/4 cups from another review. It turned out very well. I also used Light corn syrup instead of dark just to base the sweetness. Later I baked it with dark corn syrup and it still turned out great just sweeter. All in all this was a great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoshR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My husband declared that this was the best pecan pie I had ever made. So I guess I will throw out all my other recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I am a guy and I very seldom bake. I had a craving for a Pecan Pie for Thanksgiving and decided to try to make one rather than buy one. I tried this receipe. It was very easy to make. It tasted really good. The only reason why I rated it a four star instead of a 5 star was because it turned our a little too sweet (but Pecan Pies are supposed to be sweet...right) and it the there was less filling (not as thick) than a store bought Pecan Pie. Other than that it tasted just like a store bought Pecan Pie (which is a positive thing). I am going to try and make it again for Christmas but do a little tweeking to the recipe, like 1 1/2 the recipe for the filling, and make try something that would not make it quite as sweet. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
GREAT PIE. A very chewy pie, not just gooey from corn syrup. I over baked it a little and it was rather firm to cut, but still great. Not the traditional gooey bottom pecan pie, much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I love pecan pie, but was a little nervous about the mixed reviews on this one. I followed the recipe exactly, and it was wonderful! I think cooking the filling on the stove first was the difference. It set up perfectly! People who complained about it running over may have had too shallow a pie crust; I used a homeade crust in a standard deep dish pie plate and the amount of filling was perfect. (And please learn to make your own piecrust ... it makes a world of difference!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is the best recipe ever!! I have been making this since I found the recipe last year and I have had lots of people asking me to make the pie. I guess some of the people that don't like the recipe don't know the difference about stoves. They are like microwaves, they all don't heat the same. I prefer to cook my pies in a gas stove but I have an electric stove now and I have to adjust the temp. on that stove. But my pies always comes out right. Thanks a lot. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This is the most authentic Pecan Pie recipe I've eaten in 50 years. Easy, simple ingredients and absolutely wonderful. Thank you, thank you for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States