Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This is the best pecan pie I think I've ever made! My husband loves pecan pie, and he definitely approved of this one. The flavor is absolutely excellent. I didn't change it much, but I did use a 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and 1 1/4 of white, which I think gave it a slightly richer flavor. It seemed to have a hard crust on top once it had cooled, but when we cut into it, the filling was baked to exactly the right consistency. One tip: I don't like making pie crusts, and I found that this filling fits perfectly into one Marie Callendar deep dish crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CarrieAnn
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This was really good...the only thing that I did was to layer the top of the pie with pecan halves. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I won't make this again. It was too sweet or something. Maybe pecan pie just isn't for me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This pie had a wonderful flavor. I would definately advise using a deep dish crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
yum! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I have had several different types of pecan pie and this is by far the best yet.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
WOW!!! Now THIS is some Pecan Pie! The dark corn syrup gave this a rich molasses type flavor, and the filling was really dense. I added extra pecans and used halves instead of pieces. I love pecan pie and this is probably the best one I have ever tasted. I had trouble with the crust getting "carmelized" with all the sugars and it didn't cut very well, but the flavor was fabulous and it sure disappeared fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I thought this was the pie I made last year. But its not. I was unsure through the whole thing, the mixture in the sauce pan didn't look right. I went against my better judgement and wasted my pecans anyway. Good thing the only other stuff wasted was a lot of sugar. All the sugars in the pie had burned within 30 minutes, and bubbled all over the bottom of my stove. Maybe I did something wrong??? But I followed the recipe exactly. I even turned my oven down after 10 minutes. Now I have a huge mess in the bottom of my oven. I will find a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvercin29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burgoon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I am currently five months pregnant but it seems that my husband is the one with all the cravings! He requested a pecan pie the other day so I made this recipe for him while he was out. First, I don't eat pecan pie, second I don't know what it is supposed to taste like and third, I've never made one before! I followed the recipe exactly however I did combine the corn starch and water first as suggested by another reviewer. It came out perfect. In fact, after letting it rest for four hours or so, the pie held up in perfect slices despite some reviews that said to the contrary. Oh, and my husband LOVED it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I have made this pie a number of times and the taste is always outstanding. I have learned a few tricks of the trade, though. 1) Don't over beat your eggs, or it will have something of a merengue effect (and be puffy when you take it out of the oven). Do what the recipe said - just until frothy. 2) Go for two cups of pecans, and I personally add a mix of whole and half nuts. 3) In attempt to reduce sugar/calories (even if only slightly), replace the corn syrup with a sugar-free / regular maple syrup mix. 4) A tablespoon of cinnamon goes a long way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States