Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My husband declared that this was the best pecan pie I had ever made. So I guess I will throw out all my other recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I am a guy and I very seldom bake. I had a craving for a Pecan Pie for Thanksgiving and decided to try to make one rather than buy one. I tried this receipe. It was very easy to make. It tasted really good. The only reason why I rated it a four star instead of a 5 star was because it turned our a little too sweet (but Pecan Pies are supposed to be sweet...right) and it the there was less filling (not as thick) than a store bought Pecan Pie. Other than that it tasted just like a store bought Pecan Pie (which is a positive thing). I am going to try and make it again for Christmas but do a little tweeking to the recipe, like 1 1/2 the recipe for the filling, and make try something that would not make it quite as sweet. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
GREAT PIE. A very chewy pie, not just gooey from corn syrup. I over baked it a little and it was rather firm to cut, but still great. Not the traditional gooey bottom pecan pie, much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I love pecan pie, but was a little nervous about the mixed reviews on this one. I followed the recipe exactly, and it was wonderful! I think cooking the filling on the stove first was the difference. It set up perfectly! People who complained about it running over may have had too shallow a pie crust; I used a homeade crust in a standard deep dish pie plate and the amount of filling was perfect. (And please learn to make your own piecrust ... it makes a world of difference!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is the best recipe ever!! I have been making this since I found the recipe last year and I have had lots of people asking me to make the pie. I guess some of the people that don't like the recipe don't know the difference about stoves. They are like microwaves, they all don't heat the same. I prefer to cook my pies in a gas stove but I have an electric stove now and I have to adjust the temp. on that stove. But my pies always comes out right. Thanks a lot. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This is the most authentic Pecan Pie recipe I've eaten in 50 years. Easy, simple ingredients and absolutely wonderful. Thank you, thank you for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This has become my go to recipe. I've served it to pecan pie connoisseurs and some who claim not to be pecan pie peole alike and have always gotten great reviews. I pretty much follow the instructions but I'm a bit more liberal with the vanilla. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is by far the very best pie. My family had requested that I make a pecan pie for Thanksgiving. Keep in mind that I don't have a first clue how to make pie, much less pecan pie. I followed the recipe, let it cool for about 6 hours, and off to do family stuff. My father is a HUGE pecan pie fan and prefers the sweeter stuff as opposed to the store bought brand. He is IN LOVE with this pie. Matter of fact, I am not allowed to show up for Christmas without one. Also, he has also made a request for one pie every month. Thank you, thank you...it's a hit with everyone I know now. Oh, I didn't have a to change a thing. I will say that if you don't want to have to clean the bottom of your oven everytime you make one, put the pie on a large cookie sheet first. Problem solved!! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This is the best pecan pie I think I've ever made! My husband loves pecan pie, and he definitely approved of this one. The flavor is absolutely excellent. I didn't change it much, but I did use a 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and 1 1/4 of white, which I think gave it a slightly richer flavor. It seemed to have a hard crust on top once it had cooled, but when we cut into it, the filling was baked to exactly the right consistency. One tip: I don't like making pie crusts, and I found that this filling fits perfectly into one Marie Callendar deep dish crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CarrieAnn
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This was really good...the only thing that I did was to layer the top of the pie with pecan halves. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States