Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I followed the recipe with three exceptions - 1/2 cup butter, 1-1/4 cups sugar, and light corn syrup. This was excellent! I made the pie for my husband, who is very picky about his pecan pies. I had been searching for a recipe that met his definition of a "good pecan pie" and this is it! I made it today - Thanksgiving - for the first time and it was a hit! I don't even like pecan pie and I thought it was very good. I will certainly make thisin. one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I had a few problems with this recipe - first, there was too much filling, and I feared making a mess in my oven, so I had a lot left over (if I did it again, I'd use a deep dish.) More importantly, it wouldn't set, so I overcooked it. The crust is a bit too dark, and some of the pecans are slightly burned. The thing is so heavy, and the filling is thick and sludgy like muck. When I took a bite I actually couldn't get it off my teeth. I'm going back to my Caro syrup bottle recipe using light syrup. This is a recipe only a dentist could love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made this pecan pie and to myself thought it was great..Well my boyfriend told me he hated pecan pie..I start eating it and he asks me for a bite, after tasting it he then went to the kitchen and grabbed to slices! It made me feel great..and instead of using dark corn syrup i used Maple syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I think I died and went to pecan pie heaven..... this was AWESOME!!! Just reduced the sugar to one cup and it was still plenty sweet. I topped it with some whipped cream and acheived absolute perfection. Thanks for a great receipe Linda. I will be using it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Fantastic pie. I don't even like Pecan Pie, but I ate most of this one the first time I made it. I've made it several times, just as the recipe is written. Made my own crust this time, from the Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler recipe from this site..with the addition of a tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonrisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dimpleface
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Easy to make & Yummy. Don't worry if it puffs up on you while baking, it evens out as it cools. A light brush of egg wash or corn syrup for those nice shinny edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dimpleface

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Haven't tried this recipe yet, but wondering if one could substitute maple syrup for the dark corn syrup in this recipe without too much problem? I have homemade maple syrup and thought it would give the pie a nice flavor but worry about the pie setting up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
5 stars. I don't even LIKE pecan pie but am now a fan after eating this pie. Our older son (38) was in for a visit, so I took a chance on this pie just for him since he loves pecan pie. After his first bite he said "I could eat that entire pie!" He loved it. My two concerns are that it is messy to make, and it took me longer than 10 minutes to prepare it--not complaining but mentioning that for planning purposes. When I was bringing the ingredients to a boil while stirring constantly, the sugar started sticking to the side of the pot, and I thought I was going to have a hot mess, but I persevered and I'm glad I did. Today I used a different recipe as a test (comparison recipe uses white sugar and pancake syrup) and, while it was quick and easy, it was a totally different pie--no comparison. The test pie tasted more like an old-fashioned chess pie with pecans added. I will definitely throw out any other pecan pie recipes and replace with this one. This pecan pie recipe will be the one that becomes a family tradition. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Ok, i made this pie yesterday and i don't know what went wrong. I just followed the recipe letter by letter and the result is a very hard top, beside that it took soo much time to get the inside done. Maybe i overcooked it, i don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
My family loved this recipe. I have never made a pie in my life and i surprised myself by how easy this was. I substitued a 1/4 cup of whole/half pecans with the ground pecan (because we bought both at a pecan stand) and it turned out delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holley Home

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States