Pecan Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This pie was absolutely wonderful!!! I always worry about making pecan pie for Thanksgiving because sometimes they turn out and sometimes you get a mess. I would give this pie 5 stars for the flavor and ease however I can only give it 4 stars because the baking time, like other viewers said, was way off!! There was no way this pie was going to be done in 40 min! I believe mine baked for 1 1/2 hours. I kept checking it after an hour and it wasn't set yet. When it was all the way done, however, it was perfect!!! Make sure to put aluminum foil around the edges for this pie because of the length of time it needs to bake! This will be my pecan pie recipe every Thanksgiving from here on out...Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Thanks for a wonderful recipe without the Karo syrup! Everyone was skeptical when I told them it didn't have the syrup in it, but they all loved it! Used chopped pecans instead of whole ones and just mixed them all in at one time. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixgermans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This recipe came out great! It was a hit there was not one crumb left. I made this for thanksgiving. Will have to make again since i only made one pie. And had only a small piece. Must try! It was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I've never been a huge fan of pecan pie (too rich and sweet and guilty feeling!), but I saw this recipe and wanted to give it a shot. I love it! It's much lighter but still flavorful. I told my non-pecan pie eating family that they still had to try this and they loved it too. I was making several other pies at the time, so I already had the crust prepared and the filling was really easy to throw together. I'm converted now and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This is such a great recipe for those that love pecan pie but just cant take the sweetness of a traditional one, and perfect for those that use sugar alternatives!! My family loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
absolutely great!!! Much better than corn syrup. I used butter rather than margarine and made 2 pies rather than 1 deep dish (only because that is what I had). I also added 2 TBLS of cocoa which gave it them a hint of chocolate...YUM!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Much better than a traditional pecan pie because of its lighter filling. I prepared with real butter, in place of margerine. Not as syrupy-sweet as other pies, I think the brown sugar & butter lends more flavor notes than corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
It was good. I made it to recipe and the taste was fabulous. It was, however, a bit runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
My pie did not set in the middle. I used butter and put a cookie sheet on the bottom rack (just in case), cooked for 65 minutes 'cause it was still all liquid at 40 min. I know the temp of my oven is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
this was fabulous!! I did make a change...I didnt have any pecans and had a crazy sweet tooth, so i used cashews! worked out awesome, im going to try almonds next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cherryville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States