Pecan Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by cher
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Really enjoyed making this pie. 2nd time I've made it this Thanksgiving. It isn't as sweet and sticky as a store bought pie. It's almost a cake like texture with pecans. Mine turned out very pretty! I'll see if I can post a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by duchessbyday
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I get rave reviews on this pie every time I make it. This recipe is a must around the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duchessbyday

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Amazing and simple recipe! No strange flavor from the Karo that people are stuck on using either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is a delicious pie. I couldn't stop at one slice. The filling is rich and sweet and tasted a bit like butterscotch. I actually used demerara sugar because I ran out of brown sugar and I wondered if that altered the taste of filling. Like other reviewers found, it was a lot of filling and I ended up making a little pie as well. I found the filling wasn't really set. Never ate or made pecan pie, so not sure if that's normal. Set or not, it is a delicious pie and I will definitely make it again. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I love this recipe! For the holidays my family always puts in a request for it. I don't change a thing, but I do make it with the 2 regular 9 inch pie crusts. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I can't believe I forgot to rate this. This recipe was sooooo good! It was Christmas dinner and dear me, I had no corn syrup in hand...no stores open either! So, with much lookin I finally found a pecan pie recipe that didn't incorporate corn syrup! This was a winner! Absolutely yummy! Only thing I substituted was butter for the margarine it called for. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe with verrry yummy results! Thanks Deanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
To be honest I've never made a pecan pie before but was startled at many other recipes which called for corn syrup as a main ingredient. I picked this recipe because of its use of evaporated milk instead. It was a very good pie, a little sweet for my tastes, but I was happy with it nonetheless. My father (for whom I made the pie) said the taste was good but the consistency was not what he expected out of a pecan pie. He said it was too airy and custard-like. Again, I'm not a big pecan pie eater so I don't know, but I enjoyed it and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Made this for my mother.. got great reviews from family. Not sugary or too sweet...perfect!! It is now the Pecan pie for our household. Thank you for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesston, Kansas, USA
Living In: Moundridge, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I was excited about trying a new pecan pie for my brother who loves them, i was making one especially for him on Thanksgiving...I followed this recipe exactly and it just didnt come out right at all...The taste was okay, but it was very mushy and it could not be cut into slices at all...I'm not sure if i did something wrong. Thankfully, my brother said dont worry, it will get eaten, but dont ever try a new recipe again if your old one is fine :( I think I'll try this again just for own sanity!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Very good take on a Pecan Pie. I'll make this one every holiday season. Difference in timing, mine took more than 40 minutes to set, even may have overcooked it a little, but regardless, scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States