Pecan Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made it twice. Both times it was excellent. The first time the top had a crunchy sugary crust, but not the second time. The only differnce was the eggs were a bit older. I also used two cups of pecans. My father is a foodie from New York and he is very hard to please and he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this exactly as written except added half pecans placed on top. The sugars crystalized and the texture was gritty and just as sweet as my old syrup recipe. I will return to my tried and true recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LibertyBelle78
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
You don't understand: You NEED to make this pie. My previous go-to recipe was a chocolate pecan pie with an all butter crust. I didn't think that could be improved on. Then I made THIS PIE. My husband, who does not like pecan pie, publicly declared this to be the best dessert he had ever tasted: at thanksgiving - in front of his mother. I was thrilled....I just had to pretend I didn't hear him. We can't insult Mama's cooking. I did add a handful of dark chocolate chips on the bottom: I couldn't help myself. I added 3/4 cups of chopped pecans to the filling mix instead of one whole cup. I baked the pie for 15 minutes at 350, and removed the pie and added 3/4 cups pecan halves to the top to make it pretty. I lowered the oven temp to 300 and baked it for 50 minutes, only to be rewarded with PIE PERFECTION. No strange gelatinous insides, no fused-together pecan mass on top. This was what a real homemade pie should taste like. This will become a holiday tradition for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was great. I had been looking for a recipe without corn syrup. The only thing I changed is that I left the pecans whole and added 6 oz of chopped dark chocolate. The sugar was a little gritty so if I make it again I would add the hot melted butter to the sugars and stir until combined, then add the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Madson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I tried this & it was well received. After following the recipe I made the following changes: All brown sugar (gives it a deeper flavor), toasted the chopped nuts & increased to 1 1/3 cups (richer flavor & helps carry sweetness), when turning down the oven I took the pie out and arranged halved pecans decoratively on top of the pie. Also followed 400 for 10 minutes 325 for 55 minutes. Everyone's oven varies slightly, read the recipe/reviews & you'll get the idea. Pie will be set at edges & jiggle in the center. It will set up as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Outstanding. I added semi-sweet morsels to it for a hint of chocolate and served with whipped cream. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This tastes soooo good! And it was so easy, I didn't even mind the ugliness of it. It really didn't turn out pretty for me. The top puffed up a little and became like a candy shell, so when it sits out and when you slice it, it crumbles terribly. Otherwise, it tastes amazing. Not too chewy like some pecan pies can be. Great! Note: I did change baking time and temps. I baked for 350 degrees for 10 minutes, then for 50 minutes at 300 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Tullos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Used dark brown sugar instead of light but, other that, I did everything as directed and it turned out PERFECT! This pie was a hit at our Thanksgiving gathering! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Following reviewer's advice, I omitted the white sugar and baked at 350 for 10 minutes and then 300 for 50 minutes. It was good but dry and crumbly. I'm not sure where I went wrong but there are a few other reviewers who had this problem as well. Maybe I would try again for less time at 300.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Venice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Just made this today for thanksgiving. I doubled the recipe to make 2 pies and left out the white sugar. I also listened to other reviews and baked 15 min at 350 then about an hour at 300.. It was SOOO good! Not too sweet like most pecan pies. I also used extra pecans and made a pretty topping. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States