Pecan Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This recipe is fantastic - Never make the Karo Syrup recipe again! I'm disappointed I didn't have this recipe years ago - it is infinately better than the standard corn syrup recipes, and just as easy. This recipe tastes more like real pie, instead of like candy. I also recommend using Mrs Smith's deep dish pie crusts instead of the cheaper lard crusts - it bakes better. Warm the eggs to room temp before making this recipe - will keep the butter from clumping when you add it to the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1721 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
My husband and I run a restaurant and we have used this recipe as one of our desserts. Our customers always rave about it! The only thing I do differently is that I reduce the temperature of the oven to about 300 and cook it longer, until it starts to crack on the top. This way it does not get over browned on the top. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1428 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I love this recipie!! It is the best and easiest pecan pie recipie you'll ever see. I am a chef and made this for some customers and they loved it! I did change the baking time to 350 for 15 minutes then 300 for 50-55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I was hesitant to try this recipe when I noticed corn syrup was not listed as an ingredient. Well, I tried the recipe & the pie was awesome! I mixed sugars & butter well with a portable mixer while butter was hot, to eliminate a grainy texture, added 1/2 c choco. chips, 1/4 c additional pecans, then baked for 10 mins @ 400, reduce oven temp to 350 baked for 20 additional mins, reduce oven temp to 325 & bake an additional 10 mins until middle of pie settled. I reduced baking temp to eliminate burning the pie before it was done. However it was worth the adjustments. It was magnificent! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
415 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
My husband and I enjoyed this version of pecan pie very much. I lowered the calorie count even more by using 3/4C brown sugar and 1/2 C Splenda, and I used heart healthy margarine instead of butter. Best eaten warm. I am a traditional cook in pecan country and was skeptical until I tried it. I had given up making pecan pies because of the high calorie and saturated fat counts so I am thrilled to have this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
this was the best pecan pie i have ever had. it's seriously incredible. to make the filling thicker, we added more pecans. absolute perfection. i can't stop raving about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LHeather56

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
A Godsend for my diabetic wife. Pecan pie is her favorite desert, and she will only occasionally cheat on her diet to have a slice of the traditional pie; but substituting Splenda for sugar, she can (and probably will) have this whenever she wants it. So easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I tried this recipe twice and got a different result each time. Third time is a charm, right? Unfortunately not. Then I brightened up and decided to read reviews. What I was experiencing was written in every negative review I read. First let me say that the taste of this pie is absolutely phenomenal!! A little sweet, yes, but great! My issue is with the unappetizing souffle-type top and that the filling really doesn't fill my dish, leaving a big gap between crust and filling, making my crust crumble down into the pie. Not pretty. But notice the serving calculator underneath the recipe? Problem solved. Everything else I would follow to a "T" except that I would decrease baking temp to 300 degrees and bake 45 mins.Anyone that knows anything about pretty pies knows that if your crust goes, then forget the pie! This temp has burnt my crust each time, even with my crust sleeve on it--SO frustrating. The other change would be to add another 1/2 cup of pecans AFTER the filling is in the shell. That way you'll still have a nice appearance on the top of the pie. One thing that some mentioned was that this pie is dry-----this pie----let me repeat----this pie IS NOT DRY! You get somewhat of a crust on top from the souffle-style filling, but underneath that is rich ooey-gooey goodness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I'll never make pecan pie with corn syrup again! This recipe doesn't have that sickening sweetness usually associated with pecan pie, but it DOES have that scrumptious nuttiness. Thank you, Elaine Helms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Delicious! I was so happy that my first ever pecan pie came out great thanks to this recipe. As another reviewer said, I got a little confused about the oven temp (pre-heated it to 350 but it says to cook it at 400 for the first ten minutes), so I don't know if my oven temp was perfect, but the pie still came out great! Just preheat your oven to 400 and then turn it down to 350 after 10 minutes of baking. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States