Pecan Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This recipe is fantastic - Never make the Karo Syrup recipe again! I'm disappointed I didn't have this recipe years ago - it is infinately better than the standard corn syrup recipes, and just as easy. This recipe tastes more like real pie, instead of like candy. I also recommend using Mrs Smith's deep dish pie crusts instead of the cheaper lard crusts - it bakes better. Warm the eggs to room temp before making this recipe - will keep the butter from clumping when you add it to the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1644 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
My husband and I run a restaurant and we have used this recipe as one of our desserts. Our customers always rave about it! The only thing I do differently is that I reduce the temperature of the oven to about 300 and cook it longer, until it starts to crack on the top. This way it does not get over browned on the top. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1350 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I love this recipie!! It is the best and easiest pecan pie recipie you'll ever see. I am a chef and made this for some customers and they loved it! I did change the baking time to 350 for 15 minutes then 300 for 50-55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1078 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I was hesitant to try this recipe when I noticed corn syrup was not listed as an ingredient. Well, I tried the recipe & the pie was awesome! I mixed sugars & butter well with a portable mixer while butter was hot, to eliminate a grainy texture, added 1/2 c choco. chips, 1/4 c additional pecans, then baked for 10 mins @ 400, reduce oven temp to 350 baked for 20 additional mins, reduce oven temp to 325 & bake an additional 10 mins until middle of pie settled. I reduced baking temp to eliminate burning the pie before it was done. However it was worth the adjustments. It was magnificent! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
395 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
My husband and I enjoyed this version of pecan pie very much. I lowered the calorie count even more by using 3/4C brown sugar and 1/2 C Splenda, and I used heart healthy margarine instead of butter. Best eaten warm. I am a traditional cook in pecan country and was skeptical until I tried it. I had given up making pecan pies because of the high calorie and saturated fat counts so I am thrilled to have this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
this was the best pecan pie i have ever had. it's seriously incredible. to make the filling thicker, we added more pecans. absolute perfection. i can't stop raving about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LHeather56

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
A Godsend for my diabetic wife. Pecan pie is her favorite desert, and she will only occasionally cheat on her diet to have a slice of the traditional pie; but substituting Splenda for sugar, she can (and probably will) have this whenever she wants it. So easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I'll never make pecan pie with corn syrup again! This recipe doesn't have that sickening sweetness usually associated with pecan pie, but it DOES have that scrumptious nuttiness. Thank you, Elaine Helms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Delicious! I was so happy that my first ever pecan pie came out great thanks to this recipe. As another reviewer said, I got a little confused about the oven temp (pre-heated it to 350 but it says to cook it at 400 for the first ten minutes), so I don't know if my oven temp was perfect, but the pie still came out great! Just preheat your oven to 400 and then turn it down to 350 after 10 minutes of baking. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
WOW! I can't believe it had no syrup and it tasted fabulous. I even added semi-sweet mini chocolate morsels. The center was nice and thick and the pecans on top were not fused together as they are when a "regular" pecan pie cools down. Great texture! Won't be needing the Karo anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States