Pecan Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was very good and I really liked it until I tried a different recipe which was amazing. The texture of this pie is too much like a mousse and not a traditional pecan pie, the filling also was not enough for a regular 9" pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Very yummy. My mother in law called me after Christmas and told me how good it was. The only change I made was to replace the white sugar with splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was great! My father said it was the best pecan pie he'd ever had, and that's something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittiesRPretty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
After eating this, my husband said, "Make it this way, always." Says it's the best pecan pie he's tasted. Pecan is his favorite, and he's eaten quite a few different recipes in his 51 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I am from the south and this is a very dry pecan pie recipe. I will not make this again. In the south we like our pecan pie moist and sticky and this DOES NOT fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DMorgan
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I took Chef Dawn's advice, baking the pie for 15 minutes at 350, then for an additional 50 at 300. I also added additional whole pecans to the top. This pie turned out great. Not too sweet, just very tasty. I was worried about the dull film on the top, but it didn't affect the taste at all. Will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Not sure if I did something wrong, but this turned out very dry for me. The flavor was good, and I actually preferred the texture over a traditional gooey pecan pie. I could eat it while holding the pie piece, rather than with a fork, so it was more like a bar. Followed the cooking advice of other reviewers: start at 350, reducing to 300. Worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is a 5-star pie in terms of taste! As others have said, it is not overwhelmingly sweet and I would attribute that to the lack of Karo. In terms of baking times, I think others are correct. I started at 350 for 10 minutes, then turned down to 300 for another 40-45 minutes and that was perfect. Even with the lower temp I still had to use a crust shield to not end up with over-brown edges on the crust. When I adjusted the temp I followed the suggestion to place pecan halves on the top of the pie in concentric circles. Very good advice as it really added to the presentation. This recipe is definitely one I'll go back to - everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made it for the first time and took it to Christmas dinner. Someone told me it was the best pecan pie they ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
BEST PIE EVER! For years, I used my ex-MIL's recipe, even though no one really liked it. This year, I wanted something different, and I loved the idea of not using corn syrup, since my husband's main complaint is that pecan pie is too sweet. Even though I made this without a crust (we're gluten free) and I used GF flour, it came out perfectly. This is so good heated and served with a blob of ice cream on top. I will never use any other recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,550) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States