Pecan Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Best pecan pie recipe I've ever had. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving Day. I've never made a pecan pie because my mother-in-law was the expert at it and pecan pie is my husband's favorite. Since my mother-in-law passed away a few years back, I decided to finally attempt a pecan pie. I tried this one because it sounded different from the typical pecan pie, and I didn't want my husband to compare mine to "Mama's pie". With that said, this pie was delicious and my husband loved it! No comparing to "Mama's pie" - just another delicious dessert for our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This pie is absolutely fantastic! I made it for Thanksgiving and thought that I would give it a shot due to the great reviews, even though I have a pecan pie recipe that we all love. I am now a convert; this pie is delicious. It isn't dry, which was my fear since pecan pies with Karo are always plenty gooey. No worries! This pie isn't the exact same consistency, it's just a superior product, in my opinion. As far as I'm concerned, I can throw out my old recipe and use this one from now on! The only change I made was that I didn't use chopped pecans, choosing instead to use whole. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is the only pecan pie recipe I will use from now on! Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Will never go back to a recipe with Karo syrup or whole pecans on top!! Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Made exactly as written. The flavor was good, but it wasn't the consistency that I love when eating a pecan pie made with good ol' corn syrup. This had almost a praline like top. I baked it at 350 for 40 minutes. The crust was golden, but the filling seemed to overdone/dry. Don't get me wrong--still completely edible, just not the ooey-gooey goodness I like in a pecan pie. If I make it again, I will either lower the final baking temperature or shorten the baking time. Definitely needs to be eaten warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
this was the best pecan pie I've ever tasted! super easy to make, didn't change a thing from the original recipe. love that it doesn't take corn syrup. So good I ate like 3 pieces and felt so over-full, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very easy and everyone loved it for Thanksgiving. Thank you for sharing such a quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Agree with other reviewers, not overly sweet like the corn syrup version. I used a homemade 9-inch pie crust and I didn't think there was quite enough filling. I would increase the recipe by 1/2 (use the "change servings" button and increase servings from 8 to 12) and it would be perfect. Pecan pie always gets too browned in my oven so I bake for 30 minutes and loosely cover the entire pie with foil for the remaining baking time. My total baking time was about 55 minutes. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This tasted so much more like real food than those corn syrup recipes. I was concerned that real sugar would give this a grainy texture but it was super smooth. I added about 1/8 tsp salt to help bring out the flavors. As others recommended, after pouring the mix into the crust I put some pecans on top. Glad I did as they were the only ones visible once it was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States