Pecan Pie Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I love this recipe! But I added chocolate chips and my family loved these holiday treats!! The crust is amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
These were great, but turned out better once I froze the leftovers and reheated them in the oven. Reheating them gave them a richer, crispier taste. Will make again and bake a bit longer. They freeze wonderful, so it's easy to have them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
I baked these for a church bake sale and they went like hot cakes!! Everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This was a great recipe... I used it to make mini-tarts and could make 3 dozen using the recipe. I had LOTS of filling left over (even though I filled them more than 1/2 full). I also cut back on the nuts. These are awesome though, and I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I have been making this for a while however the title of this recipe is different, we call those pecan cups...just an extra hint...We sprinkle powdered sugar all over them right after they are taken out of the oven...Yummy, you will agree for sure without any hestitation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kewanee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This is a great recipe! If you like a creamier filling, cut back on the pecans by about 1/4 cup. Using the small tart tins and making the crust on the thinner side, I got @6 dozen of tarts. And there was just enough filling for this number of tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Whenever I make these they're a hit at home or the office. The amount of filling is short of what I think is needed for the amount of dough that's made...I take an additional amount of whole pecans and glaze them with honey and dark corn syrup and spoon them over the tops of the tarts before they go in the oven. It fills them to the top and adds a little extra sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Gave these a poor review a while back. Tried them again and loved them! I screwed up last time by not spreading the dough up the sides of the cups. The filling pretty much glued everything to the tin. This time I made these in mini muffin tins and while that was ok, I think they will be better in regular size muffin tins. Also, I had alot of filling left, but I think that's because of the mini size. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I was looking for something to add to a potluck at work and decided personal pecan pies would be fun. I cut the recipe in half and had enough to fill 6 regular sized muffins. I did fill them more than half full but it didn't bubble out. Tops are perfectly browned and the crust is amazing. I did add a dash of salt to the crust and filling, just a pinch for flavor really. I will be making more of these as they are a wonderful way to control portions and skip the hassle of cutting and serving a real pie. Pipe the top with whipped cream or cool whip, sprinkle with a touch of cinnamon sugar add a whole pecan half (candied is nice) and its perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Watts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eliot, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I only used the filling part of the recipe, and put it in regular pie pastry shells. I followed the recommendation of other reviewers and cut down on the nuts. They turned out very well. I was unsure if 325* was the correct temperature for regular pastry but it was fine. Update: I made them with the cream cheese pastry and it was fine, but I think using regular pastry makes no real difference to the taste. I will just use pie dough from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States