Pecan Pie Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Simply awesome - these definitely taste just like miniature pecan pies! They look adorable and once you pop one in your mouth you'll be hooked. These are so easy to make, but people will think you spent hours. I did cut back on the nuts a bit and used 1 & 1/3 cups but other than that I didn't change a thing. I used a miniature muffin tin to bake these and I did get more than 30 - but the more the better with these little gems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
These were great, but turned out better once I froze the leftovers and reheated them in the oven. Reheating them gave them a richer, crispier taste. Will make again and bake a bit longer. They freeze wonderful, so it's easy to have them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I only used the filling part of the recipe, and put it in regular pie pastry shells. I followed the recommendation of other reviewers and cut down on the nuts. They turned out very well. I was unsure if 325* was the correct temperature for regular pastry but it was fine. Update: I made them with the cream cheese pastry and it was fine, but I think using regular pastry makes no real difference to the taste. I will just use pie dough from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Tasted great. I made 36 tarts with the dough, but had enough filling to make another batch the next day. I will remember next time to either double the dough or cut the filling ingredients in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I'm pretty sure the recipe intends these to be made in normal sized muffin tins, not mini muffin tins. It just says muffin tins in the directions and never mentions mini. You can certainly do either, but I'm pretty sure that everyone who reviewed this and had an issue with the crust vs filling ratio being off made them as mini muffins. I made these in traditional muffin tins and they turned out perfect, I got 30, and I had the right amount of filling for the crust. The crust was flaky and buttery and the filling was delicious. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
These turned out really well. The crust holds together nicely,but isn't tough. It browned to a very light golden brown. There should be more gooey filling though. I will decrease the nuts next time, so that the spoon isn't so full of nuts each time I fill the shell. I made mini tarts and half a recipe made 24 and I baked for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This is a great recipe! If you like a creamier filling, cut back on the pecans by about 1/4 cup. Using the small tart tins and making the crust on the thinner side, I got @6 dozen of tarts. And there was just enough filling for this number of tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Whenever I make these they're a hit at home or the office. The amount of filling is short of what I think is needed for the amount of dough that's made...I take an additional amount of whole pecans and glaze them with honey and dark corn syrup and spoon them over the tops of the tarts before they go in the oven. It fills them to the top and adds a little extra sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This was a great recipe... I used it to make mini-tarts and could make 3 dozen using the recipe. I had LOTS of filling left over (even though I filled them more than 1/2 full). I also cut back on the nuts. These are awesome though, and I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
These are amazing! I will have to say though, next time I will either halve the filling or double the dough. Drizzled some with chocolate and topped off with powdered sugar - was a HIT at the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States