Pecan Pie Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Whenever I make these they're a hit at home or the office. The amount of filling is short of what I think is needed for the amount of dough that's made...I take an additional amount of whole pecans and glaze them with honey and dark corn syrup and spoon them over the tops of the tarts before they go in the oven. It fills them to the top and adds a little extra sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This is a great recipe! If you like a creamier filling, cut back on the pecans by about 1/4 cup. Using the small tart tins and making the crust on the thinner side, I got @6 dozen of tarts. And there was just enough filling for this number of tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This was a great recipe... I used it to make mini-tarts and could make 3 dozen using the recipe. I had LOTS of filling left over (even though I filled them more than 1/2 full). I also cut back on the nuts. These are awesome though, and I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
These turned out really well. The crust holds together nicely,but isn't tough. It browned to a very light golden brown. There should be more gooey filling though. I will decrease the nuts next time, so that the spoon isn't so full of nuts each time I fill the shell. I made mini tarts and half a recipe made 24 and I baked for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Maybe I did something wrong. These weren't completely done and already starting to burn on top???? I did freeze about half and will reheat them and see if they're better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
These were great, but turned out better once I froze the leftovers and reheated them in the oven. Reheating them gave them a richer, crispier taste. Will make again and bake a bit longer. They freeze wonderful, so it's easy to have them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
I baked these for a church bake sale and they went like hot cakes!! Everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Wonderful! The pastry was great! I have to agree with other reviews that recommended increasing the filling ingredients. There were so many nuts but not as much filling as I would like. These tarts still got gobbled up, though. Next time I make these I'll know better. Give them a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDENSVEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I love this recipe! But I added chocolate chips and my family loved these holiday treats!! The crust is amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Tasted great. I made 36 tarts with the dough, but had enough filling to make another batch the next day. I will remember next time to either double the dough or cut the filling ingredients in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States