Pecan Pie Surprise Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
Something is wrong here ! I tried these yesterday, and 1/2 cup of melted butter and one egg to 1/3 of the cake mix does not equal "crumbly" It was DOUGH ! That was way too much liquid. I can not believe the others made this by the recipe and came out with such rave reviews. After seeing the results of all that liquid, all I could do to salvage it was to add the additional eggs, etc. called for on the box of cake mix and just bake a plain yellow cake. I was very disappointed as I was baking these for company. After reading the response. I wish to say that I did not misread the directions. My only thought is that perhaps they meant "softened butter" as opposed to "melted butter." I still say that 1/3 box of cake mix, 1 egg, and 1/2 cup of melted butter was not crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
My 10 yr. old daughter won GRAND CHAMPION with this recipe. Neen I say more. Thank you Glenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
Everyone loves these bars! And they are a breeze to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This recipe for pecan bars is superb. Even though I had to use a white cake mix in place of the yellow mix; and probably used twice the amount of pecans, I'm pleasantly happy with this recipe. This is for people who love the taste of pecan pie without all the gooey mess inside! The recipe was easy to follow, and all ingredients are readily available; GOOD JOB GLENDA:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Yumm! Great recipe. Finally, I can give my husband Pecan pie without having to make pie (I really dislike making pie)! This will be a regular at Thanksgiving and Christmas time for sure. I only gave 4 stars because I am reserving 5 stars for something that makes me go "oh my God!" but this was really good, no doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This was great! Thanks for a great keeper! :-))))) A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Great and easy recipe!. Instead of yellow cake mix I used caramel cake mix.I had to spread the cookie bottom instead of sprinkling it, which made me kinda nervous.This is a perfect alternative to the traditional pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I usually pass recipes which are based on store mixes, but believe me - this one is worth trying. I tripled the zmount of pecans and put some parchment paper on the bottom of the pan before pouring the batter - separating the bars when they were done was a breeze. Though the aroma of the baking will make you drool, make sure the pie cools completely before you cut it, otherwise the filling will be still gooey and the bars will look messy. Even better - refrigerate for several hours and then cut into bars. Good way to exercise your willpower! Beautiful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I was skeptical about these because of the cake mix, but they are delicious. I served these near Christmas, cut into triangles. Nice presentation. Very rich and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Very good! It is just like a pecan pie, but not as messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States