Pecan Pie Surprise Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by heikas
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Wow, these are amazing! I like the other type of pecan pie bar too, but these are better. I made the recipe as written, and WOW, they are so good! Oooey gooey perfect. Not sure why others had trouble with it, because this was an easy, perfect recipe. Thanks so much for sharing, this one is going into the family recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I made these for the guys at work last week....well today I am making two batches....these get five stars from myself and about twenty guys at work'. I did add extra pecans....well after all us southerners gotta have those precious magical nuts and I make my own vanilla extract and add a table spoon and then push the cavier from one vanilla bean into the last stage. Thank you soooooo very much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This has been a family favorite since the early 1970s when I first discovered it in a cook-off winner publication. My gosh, it is so delicious. I still have the original paper recipe. The measurements are correct. Take your time and read the DIRECTIONS carefully - set aside 2/3 cup, not box, of dry cake mix for the filling. The remainder of the dry cake mix is used for the crust. The only time I ever had a problem was when rushed and I turned on my large standard mixer and tried to blend the crust on high - it got doughy - my mistake. I pressed it into the pan, baked it... and no one knew the difference. Now I look for cake mixes that do not have pudding in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I followed the recipe except for the fact i used butter pecan cake mix instead of yellow cake mix was awesome, the cake batter was not crumbly, but was one of my new favorite things to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Corinth, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cineaste
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Don't forget the whipped cream or ice cream to top this off - then it's not so rich. This was our absolute favorite when we were kids - exactly this recipe (by Glenda). Dad loved it too... I'm glad I'm now making it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cineaste

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These came out very good!! If you have problems patting the crust into your pan, just wet your fingers, and it will go down very easy!! I followed the recipe exactly other then mixing all the pecans into the filling, and I did add about an extra 2/3 cup of them. Pecan Pie is DH favorite dessert, and he was more then pleased with these bars!! Will make again, Thanks for sharing your recipe@@
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
A family favorite for years. Perfect every time! I add 2 cups of pecans, being from the South, turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiep

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nederland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I love this recipe, anything with pecans in it , my family asks me to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I prepared using 2 cups chopped pecans. I also waited for the crust to cool 10 minutes before pouring the filling over the crust. Good, taste like pecan pie, good for a get together of family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States