Pecan Pie Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I love these muffins! I wound up selling products for a company based out of Texas because I fell in love with the pecan pie muffin mix they had. I was so excited to find a recipe for these wonderful little gems. I only put about 1/2 cup of pecans in mine and I like them pretty gooey so I bake them at 325 degrees for about 12 minutes. They do tend to stick. I use a nonstick mini muffin pan and spray it very well. Baker's joy works better than anything else. I wouldn't recommend using the paper muffin liners. The muffins stick to them like glue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
I have found that the "key" to these muffins is mini muffin tins -- the regular size ones just don't work, and Baker's Joy spray. Also, I fill mine with just 1 tbsp. of filling, and bake only 17 minutes. Mine are always a hit, in fact, I am enjoying some right now. I love the jar gift idea -- I am going to try that one next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I LOVE it! They never last at my house more than an hour! I use Baker's Joy and never have a problem with sticking. Also I use melted butter and add it straight to the dry mixture, then the beaten eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
After I sprayed my muffin tin with Pam, I coated the cups with sugar (instead of flour). My muffins popped right out of the tin! My office loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
This recipe is easy and fantastic! I serve it warm with a little scoop of vanilla ice cream and everyone loves it! I also bought glass holiday jars, mixed the flour & sugar and put in the bottom, topped with the nuts, put a ribbon on it with a "finish the recipe" card calling for the butter and egg and gave them to teachers for holiday goodies! BIG HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
I followed the suggestions of other raters and reduced the butter and added a little more flou. They did not turn out good. They were dry and nothing like pecan pie. If you try these I would suggest following the recipe. I am not sure if I will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
These are fantastic! I usually make them in regular sized tins, but you MUST use oil and flour the tins, or they will stick! I lost the first batch using only tins sprayed with PAM. The paper liners do work, too, but if you want to eat them right away, the muffins will stick to the paper until they have cooled a little. They are not too greasy for us!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
To prepare pans for sure removal Mix Equal Parts: Cooking oil Flour Crisco When ingredients are completley mixed, spread on pan sides and bottom. works perfectly! I Keep reserved preparation in my refrigerator until needed. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clermont, Florida, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Photo by ShawnaRae
Reviewed: May 6, 2006
These little suckers are awesome....I used walnuts b/c thats what i had on hand....but i can imagine how much better they would be with pecans...But still....awesome.....I only baked them for about 12-15 minutes.....so they were still gooey inside....and crisp on the outside....these were so good....Sugar and fat...cant resist that!!!!! Oh..it made 24 perfect bit size mini muffins....Sprayed generously with Baking spray with flour....popped out easily!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
By the time I finished reading many of the reviews, I was terrified! All that sticking and gooiness and whatever! But most people, despite negative comments, said that they TASTED wonderful, so I decided to be brave..... Well, these are the most adorable little things to look at and to enjoy! Worried, from comments, that I would practically have to use pliers to get them out of the pan, I sprayed with Pam AND I buttered and sugared each little cup lightly. Since I was using a dark pan, I baked at 325. I tied myself to the kitchen chair so that I could keep an eye on the little guys and so that nothing could go wrong! The changes I made were due to suggestions: I added a bit of vanilla and I used only 1/2 cup of butter which I melted (I usually melt any butter called for in a muffin recipe since it seems to yield a more tender muffin). I set the timer for 15 minutes. Ding! What came out of the oven were 12 perfect little muffins that were a cinch to remove from the pan! I had enough batter for another dozen and this time I used liners (Pam-sprayed lightly). Another pan of perfection. Although they look prettier in liners, there was a teensy sticking problem here and there, but not enough to ruin the muffins. Probably a bit more Pam would help. Please, folks, try making these again if they did not work out the first time. They are perfect for a little tea party! So glad I accepted the challenge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States